Banana Rum Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I really really liked this recipe! First time making biscotti with banana, so I wasn't really sure what to expect, but they hardened right up after baking at 350 for 15 on the first side, and 10 on the second. I also added a dash of vanilla because I only had white rum, and wasn't convinced it was enough flavor. Next time I will double the recipe - half with nuts, half with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Added almonds and butterscotch chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Followed recipe exactly minus the addition of the nuts. I found these to be very bland. Not much flavor. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very good biscotti. The dough was a bit sticky, floured hands or Pam sprayed hands will be helpful when forming into shape. The only change I made with the ingredients is I used 2 cups white flour and 1 1/2cups whole wheat flour. For the second round of baking I did bake 25 minutes each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used melted butter for the oil and vanilla instead of the rum since I didn't have either of those ingredients on hand & my bananas wouldn't have lasted until I found time to run to the store! Because I wanted bigger pieces of biscotti I made two loafs instead of four, and I sprinkled them with a little cinnamon & sugar before baking, and I toasted mine longer than 15min a side, I probably did 30min a side, I like mine pretty crisp. These came out of the oven absolutely delicious, the banana flavor was great and not too over powering, it was just right. I can't wait to make these again, but with a thicker layer of cinnamon/sugar on them, it complimented the banana flavor really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very good flavor. We love banana and chocolate so I added some chocolate chips and I drizzled melted chocolate on top of the baked cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
YUM. I also added the mini choco chips and should have doubled the rum...next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anniemac7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Made as directed... I think they'd be better if they were baked until they were dry throughout, not soft on the inside. That made it seem like they weren't baked correctly and it made them seem stale after just a day. Would try again, baking longer and maybe adding a nice drizzle of melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I am by no means a biscotti expect but I do tend to bake at least one batch a week. Just love this recipe, I did change it slightly. Not that it needed changing but to meet my own requirements. I used 2 tablespoons of Bacardi Gold rum and also added ½ cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, used the rest of the ingredients as stated. Mixed the batter as per the recipe (smelled delicious) but as I use a large baking sheet I only make 2 logs. Split my batter in half in the KA and then working with each log separately, I kneed in a small amount of flour into each log on the counter, I then kneed for a minute until smooth, once smooth I roll out the log like a sausage, place this on the wax paper and press down to ½ inch thick on the baking tray. I find this easier to deal with rather than rolling flat and then moving to the baking tray. I bake for 30 minutes until golden brown, remove from the oven. When cooling I move the wax paper containing the biscotti off the baking tray and place it straight on the cooling rack, I cut with a serrated knife after 8 minutes of cooling. I bake at FULL temperature for a further 15 minutes on each side. I made an unbelievable 50 Biscotti from this batch. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe sueb @//-_-\\@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by LEERYUNG
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
yum! this is delicious. i've always made it with a different recipe but i think this one is better! should use this one from now on. however, i changed it a little. i omitted rum, and added vanila extract. i only used 60g of white sugar, and added almonds and chocolate chips. other then that, i did exactly as the recipe. it's so crispy and yum! and i recommend to those who says it gets soggy to bake a little bit longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States