Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Texture anad appearance are beautiful but even after doubling the bananas I found the flavor lacking. I added a bit of cardamom which brings a nice element to the recipe but I'll continue to tweak this to improve the flavor. Makes amazing mini-muffins (bake at 350 for approx. 12 minutes). I did increase the baking powder slightly as well. I've found that it helps make a lighter and fluffier muffin as opposed to the usually dense and heavy texture of pumpkin and/or banana breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
excellent recipe. instead of using sugar, I used applesauce (by grating 1 apple with my pampered chef Micro Grater - it made the apple into instant applesauce - peel and all, it's fantastic). The recipe turned out perfect - the kids even loved it - that speaks volumes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
For those of you having difficulty with the cooking time, I made this recipe for muffins instead of bread and it came out okay -- they were REALLY dense, but they tasted good. I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes and I turned the pan halfway through the baking time so that the browned evenly. I got 20 regular sized muffins out of the recipe. I did cut the flour by a half cup and replaced it with rolled oats, and I used white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. And I added candied ginger instead of raisins. Decent recipe but I'm not sure I'll return to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Use 1 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger. Bake 325 in small loaves for 25-30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I agree with the other reviews - the bread was great but took much longer to cook than advertised. I probably cooked my bread about 1 1/2 hours before I was able to put in a cake tester and it came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Followed recipe pretty closely but made these changes: substituted 1/2 whole wheat flour, used 1/4 cup brown sugar for the white and because I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, I used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp of cloves and nutmeg and omitted addition cinnamon. This recipe makes 18 muffins cooked for 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This bread is excellent, I used applesauce instead of oil and chocolate chips instead of raisins. I used 2 1/2 bananas (my son ate the other 1/2) and a little over 1/2 of a big can of pumpkin puree. I didn't measure. Half the batter went into a loaf pan and the other half went into a muffin tin. the muffins were done in about 20 minutes, and the bread took close to an hour. It was so delicious and moist. I'm making more tonight, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Absolutely love the taste of the bread! I combined some past reviews however and maybe should have only took one reviewer's advice. I used 3 bananas total and 14 oz. of the pumpkin. I also used the applesauce vs. the oil. I ended up cooking for about 90 minutes and the middle was still ridiculously moist. Not sure if it didn't cook all the way through, or if it just became that moist due to my additions. I did add a half cup more flour assuming it would help compensate for my additions - not exactly the case (I used wheat and all-purpose.) My boyfriend and I are still eating it however! : ) Tastes great...I just am going to take it easy on the additions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Delicious and moist! I followed the recipe exactly but had to add 10 minutes to the cooking time and it was perfectly done. I did use walnuts but omitted the raisins out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States