Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made this last night. And had to try it as soon as it cooled. And this is now my new banana bread that I will be making for now on. Soooo moist, and tasty too. Had it for breakfast.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This recipe needs some work. The baking time/temp for a loaf of bread is not right. I ended up leaving it in a lot longer than 45 minutes, until the top began to turn black, but the center was still not cooked. Because the bread puffed up so much above the pan, I sliced off the blackened top to level with the pan, and put it back in. It finally cooked all the way through, and it had a pretty good taste, although I might adjust some of the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is the best pumpkin bread I have tried yet! It is so moist and flavorful. Even my husband, who doesn't care for pumpkin, raved about it. Unfortunately, I am a health nut so I don't let myself splurge often on this recipe. I will be playing with it to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
verdict is still out since it's in the oven. I thought 1 cup of sweetener was excessive w/ all that ripe banana, so I did 1/4 cup honey (and 1/2 cup is expensive!) and 1/4 cup raw sugar. Used 1 C oats, 1 1/4 C spelt flour instead of white flour. Used half the oil and coconut oil instead of toxic vegetable oil, and threw in a couple spoonfuls of homemade pear/applesauce as well. Used cinnamon, allspice, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg. I went for the two-short-loaves method- they looked pretty wimpy batter wise, but didn't want to risk 1 1/2 hours and a burnt top/gooey center! So I'm watching them closely, going to start checking at 35 minutes. (oh, and 325) Can't wait for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
after reading the reviews and that bread was gooey --I just made 2 loafs with this one batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I turned this Gluten Free with 1 Cup of Maplegrove Farms all purpose baking mix and the rest EnerG potato starch flour. Cooked it in the crock pot on low. VEry good results..could not tell it was GF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Unimpressive. I made this recipe into muffins, and the finished product stuck to the paper baking cups like glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious! My husband cannot stop talking about how delicious the bread is. I substituted brown sugar for the white and used mostly whole wheat flour. I made a double batch and cooked both in the oven for 1 hour and 5 minutes. They are perfect and moist and the pumpkin and banana really blend well. Just fyi, i would consider this much more pumpkiny than bananay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
A big hit! I served it as a dessert with some cream cheese frosting. This bread is really moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I did the same as some of the others, by adding Allspice as well as Pumpkin pie spice and more sweetener (White Karo). Regarding the baking issue, I split the batter into 2 pans, baked it at 350 for the 45 minutes and had no problem. This bread did come out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States