Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Agree w/ those who say double the spices. If you don't have pumpkin pie spice (I don't), mix your own with 4 parts cinnamon, one part each of ginger, allspice and ground cloves, and 1/2 part nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious! I added a bit extra of the spices as suggested, used 3 bananas instead of 2, and baked for 50 minutes. It came out perfectly! Moist, chewy, and flavorful. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
If you prepare this recipe as directed it will not cook through. I doubled the cooking time to 90 min and it was finally done. It is wrong to rate this five stars and change the recipe because some folks (me) will prepare it without reading the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Delicious and healthy. I made these to use up bananas and canned pumpkin. I made them according to the recipe except I cut the sugar. I trippled the recipe, because I had a lot of bananas to use. Triple recipe gave me 80 muffins. I made muffins to put in my kids lunches, packs easier than bread. I only added 1/2 cup sugar total for the trippled recipe. I also added white chocolate chips, which made it a very yummy desert-ish. I didn't add the optional raisins or walnuts, but added an extra banana because they seemed small. I also used duck eggs instead of chicken eggs. That was what I had on hand and they are supposed to make everything fluffier because of the extra egg white. They are delicious. I baked them for around 15 minutes at 350-degrees and they were perfect. Not sure how this would turn out as a loaf, but it was terrific as muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This recipe is great and I made it GLUTEN FREE. I tweaked it by adding 2 extra bananas, 1/4 cup of olive oil instead 1/3 cup of vegetable oil, 1/3 cup shredded coconut, a dash of ground cloves and some dark choc chips! Also substituted rice flour to make it gluten free!! Made wonderful muffins and soft cake like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was great I even added white chocolate chips and it added a whole new bit of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Yum. Followed almost to at "T", didn't add the pumpkin pie spice as I didn't have it and added chocolate chips to half of the batter. Made them into muffins, didn't last 2 days. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Yeah, okay, I had to bake this for an hour. But who cares? The taste is AMAZING. Instead of raisins, I added 1/2 c. chocolate chips, resulting in some pretty awesome chocolate chip walnut banana pumpkin bread--pretty much all the best quick breads in one. Somehow I ended up with more batter than would fit in a single 9x5 loaf pan though, so I filled up a few muffin cups with the leftovers. I baked the muffins for 40 minutes and they still came out a little overdone. The bread is definitely the winner here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe! I made mini-muffins and they came out perfect...springy, moist and yummy! I opted for the muffins as I have two small children and with what everyone was saying about cooking time in a loaf pan, I just decided it was best to avoid it. I did make some adjustments--because I just can't seem to follow a recipe as is.... First of all, I used 4 completely black bananas. I also used pumpkin pie mix instead of pumpkin puree because that is what I happened to have. Also, I was out of vegetable oil, so just used melted butter. I know super healthy.... I only had a small amount of honey left too (can you tell I wasn't planning to make this?) so I used brown sugar instead. Again, maybe not the healthiest, but tasty! The rest I did as written and they are amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I made this using the quick bread cycle on my bread machine. To make it a little healthier, I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil, and used whole wheat flour and raw sugar. I also used sliced almonds instead of walnuts. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States