Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I took the advice of gradysmom. Low and slow. I cooked it at 330 for 1/2 hour longer then called for and it came out perfect. The only change I made was brown sugar for honey because that's all I had . Very nice loaf but I found more banana flavour and no pumpkin. For that reason alone I probably won't make again. Or will make and omit banana. I was looking forward To a little more of a pumpkin loaf. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
With only a 1/3 c. of oil in a large loaf, this is very low fat compared to other similar breads. And its noticeable, though not necessarily unpleasant. The texture smooth and moist and he low fat content does make this a better vehicle for spreading with cream cheese than some other recipes. I doubt I will make this again. You don't really taste the banana very much, and presumably the addition of banana that causes you to use less than a full can of pumpkin. I don't like recipes that leave bits of ingredients in my fridge--particularly ones I don't normally use-- and I now have about 1/3 cup of pumpkin that I may or may not find a use for. With regard to cooking time, I had no trouble. With this and similar recipes, I bake for 40 minutes, then leave the door shut, cut off the oven and give it another 20 minutes in the still hot but cooling oven. Always works perfectly. I used frozen banana, which I did not thaw but ground up in the food processor and added last to prevent the extra moisture of thawed bananas from being a problem. That worked great. I dialed down the spice based on personal preference and added vanilla. The amount of spice does not figure into my review, but I used just half a tsp of cinnamon, half a tsp of allspice (I don't keep pumpkin pie spice), and a tsp of vanilla. I thought it gave a pleasantly fall-like but not overwhelming flavor. I might increase the cinnamon back to 1 tsp. if I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made it into muffins. They were very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna Chakarova
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe turned out great. Made this recipe with gluten free flour, almond milk instead of dairy and put toffee bits on the top. Recipe made 12 nice sized muffins that are very yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Chakarova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I used maple cream instead of honey...amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
My family loved it. I added extra raisins and half of a banana. Used self rising flour and omitted the baking powder and baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
My family really loved this bread once it was finally cooked. Agree with everyone,cooking time should be 70-80min. I used fresh pumpkin and sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top of the batter before baking. Everyone says it smells like Thankgiving in our house. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Loved this- did make a few adjustments though- used a mixture of maple syrup and honey/ used mostly ww flour/ added some quick oats/ and added a tablespoon of cacao powder for more nutrients also used my bread maker to make this- put everything in pressed dough setting to stir it up for 6 minutes then switched to bake setting- took about 1 hr and 15 in the bread maker- so yum!! Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This one did not impress me. It doesn't really taste like banana, nor does it taste like pumpkin. I followed the recipe except for using molasses instead of honey and 3 bananas instead of 2 (they were kind of small).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yummy, yum, yum, yummy, yummy, yummmmmmmm! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States