Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I have been making this recipe for months now...a favorite! Works with fresh OR canned pumpkin, though I throw in an bit more banana. I also use whole wheat flour instead of white flour and it stays moist and lovely. I have also made this as a straight banana bread, by replacing the pumpkin with more mashed banana- it makes the best banana bread I have ever had. Highly recommended for a healthy quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This is a great bread, and easy to make, too. I can't praise it enough. I can taste the banana, pumpkin and honey in every bite. I put a lot of golden raisins in it and it is just the best quick bread I ever made/ate. It did need to bake longer than the recipe indicated - more like an hour rather than 45 minutes. Rating: Five stars +
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This bread was okay. I added chocolate-covered raisins and butterscotch chips. A sort-of muttled taste, not strong pumpkin or banana flavor. Probably won't make it again, but good to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
Both the banana and pumpkin flavors were easy to taste, which is pretty hard to do with bananas I've found! It was loved by everyone who had some as something out of the ordinary and for the most part pretty healthy. It did take alot longer than 45 minutes in the oven, though, before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is a VERY moist bread and it was nice not to throw out my jack-o-lantern and to use the bananas in my freezer. The kids liked it a lot. It was delicious. It needed a full half-hour added to the cooking time. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This is really good. I made it with chocolate chips instead of raisins and omitted the walnuts. I would also use 1/2 as much pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Wonderful. I love the pumpkin flavor. I have allready given the recipe to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I took the advice of earlier reviews and halved the pumpkin pie spice. I also made muffins instead of a loaf, so the baking time was must faster. To reduce fat even further, I substituted applesauce for for the oil, and everything turned out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This recipe is fantastic! It took an electric beater to get everything smooth, but it was worth the effort. Also, a full 60 minutes was needed in my oven, but the bread was still moist and absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I've prepared this recipe twice now for my family and everyone just loved it! My toddler can't get enough of it... It's not too sweet and the consistency is just right for little hands to handle. My pre-teen also likes it a lot. This bread is now a regular staple at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States