Banana Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I give this recipe 5 stars. I used 1 c. white flour and 1 ½ c. whole wheat flour which resulted in a nice consistency. I was low on honey and used a combination of honey, brown sugar, and white sugar. I changed the spices to 1 t. pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 t. allspice, 1/2 t. cloves, and 1 t. cinnamon. I baked in a muffin pan at 350 degrees for around 25 minutes. Delicious and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This bread came out perfect! I cut the recipe in half and baked in a jumbo muffin pan. I substituted whole wheat flour for half of the total flour and added chocolate chips. I do muffins because it is just me. I wrap each one in foil then put all of them in a zip lock freezer bag and pop them in the freezer. That way, when I want a muffin, I can take out just on. Sit it on the counter and it is ready to eat in about 10 minutes. Keeps me from over indulging in yummy muffins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this this morning and it was perfect! made double batch.... *** I changed it to be a little more healthy and and diabetic tolarable. Orginal recipe has 55 carbs!!!!!! and they are all sugar and white flour. Also addded 1 teaspoon ginger Subsituted 1/2 of white flour with whole wheat. Cut the honey in half Used egual amount of splenda instead of regular sugar. Used olive oil instaed of vegtable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moroccan Habeba

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
So delicious and so moist! Tastes more awesome with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Not any better than any other recipe. Couldn't taste the bananas. I have a better recipe I'll just stick with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Texture anad appearance are beautiful but even after doubling the bananas I found the flavor lacking. I added a bit of cardamom which brings a nice element to the recipe but I'll continue to tweak this to improve the flavor. Makes amazing mini-muffins (bake at 350 for approx. 12 minutes). I did increase the baking powder slightly as well. I've found that it helps make a lighter and fluffier muffin as opposed to the usually dense and heavy texture of pumpkin and/or banana breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
excellent recipe. instead of using sugar, I used applesauce (by grating 1 apple with my pampered chef Micro Grater - it made the apple into instant applesauce - peel and all, it's fantastic). The recipe turned out perfect - the kids even loved it - that speaks volumes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
For those of you having difficulty with the cooking time, I made this recipe for muffins instead of bread and it came out okay -- they were REALLY dense, but they tasted good. I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes and I turned the pan halfway through the baking time so that the browned evenly. I got 20 regular sized muffins out of the recipe. I did cut the flour by a half cup and replaced it with rolled oats, and I used white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. And I added candied ginger instead of raisins. Decent recipe but I'm not sure I'll return to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Use 1 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger. Bake 325 in small loaves for 25-30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I agree with the other reviews - the bread was great but took much longer to cook than advertised. I probably cooked my bread about 1 1/2 hours before I was able to put in a cake tester and it came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States