Banana Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Ok I'm not super experienced pudding cook, but this is my opinion. It was too sweet. I looked up another recipe and it's ratio of milk sugar was 2:1 which i think is better. also this called for 3 TBS of flour instead of only 1. I think it is personal preference for brown vs white sugar, however I think that white makes it less rich which i like. I didn't feel like there was enough pudding so I'm making more with the 2:1 ratio and adding it in. depending on your stove you may need to heat over med heat. I stirred it for an hour on med low with no results. but my stove's low setting is extremely low. I also added vanilla to this (which I know makes in richer) but then I read somewhere else to add vanilla after it's cooked. does anyone know why this is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious! I cut the brown sugar to 2/3 cup and added a pinch of salt and a few drops of vanilla to the pudding. I also cut the sugar in the meringue and added a quarter teaspoon of cream of tartar. It took forever I thicken on the stovetop but I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grey Mangum
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I doubled the meringue for mine and also added a pinch of cream of tarter to help the meringue peak. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I've made this twice and really like it (but it is over the top sweet). The proportion of cookie/banana to pudding/meringue is not balanced for me. I wished I would have doubled the pudding portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cwoods32
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Really good! This matches my family's versions very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband said he can never go back to jello pudding ever again. I'd been looking for a southern style banana pudding for a while and this is it. I didn't have any brown sugar on hand so I substituted granulated sugar. STILL FABULOUS!!! Now my mother in law and my sister are insisting this be my contribution to the holiday meals :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scouters Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Easy! But too sweet. Try swapping brown sugar for granulated sugar and reduce amount. And get cream of tartar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe without the brown sugar, just used white sugar, and it was great, just like Mammy use to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The pudding was as thin as water and the brown sugar made it the color of coffee and creamer. I didn't even get to the point of assembling the pudding, since the pudding part came out so horrible. I think I'm just going to head back to the store and buy a dessert or make the best of it and try using the bananas for a banana cream pie. I wanted to live this recipe, but since it wasn't edible after following the directions to a tee, I can't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States