Banana Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Grey Mangum
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I doubled the meringue for mine and also added a pinch of cream of tarter to help the meringue peak. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I've made this twice and really like it (but it is over the top sweet). The proportion of cookie/banana to pudding/meringue is not balanced for me. I wished I would have doubled the pudding portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cwoods32
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Really good! This matches my family's versions very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband said he can never go back to jello pudding ever again. I'd been looking for a southern style banana pudding for a while and this is it. I didn't have any brown sugar on hand so I substituted granulated sugar. STILL FABULOUS!!! Now my mother in law and my sister are insisting this be my contribution to the holiday meals :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scouters Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Easy! But too sweet. Try swapping brown sugar for granulated sugar and reduce amount. And get cream of tartar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe without the brown sugar, just used white sugar, and it was great, just like Mammy use to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The pudding was as thin as water and the brown sugar made it the color of coffee and creamer. I didn't even get to the point of assembling the pudding, since the pudding part came out so horrible. I think I'm just going to head back to the store and buy a dessert or make the best of it and try using the bananas for a banana cream pie. I wanted to live this recipe, but since it wasn't edible after following the directions to a tee, I can't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I am not sure what is happening with others who have tried this saying it's not working out. I also didn't let the pudding thicken long enough, and what I thought was "coating" the spoon apparently wasn't quite enough...but it set well in the fridge, so all is good. I used the recommended amount of sugar and in no way do I think it's "too sweet". In fact it's perfect...just like any other dessert! Since I have Celiac, I used gluten free flour and used a gluten free cookie made by Schar. It's the shortbread cookies. It works and tastes good, but nothing compares to vanilla wafers! Either way, it worked out just fine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixpackjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was a hit in my home for Father's Day...after reading the previous reviews I decided to just do 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup of white sugar..I also used 3 egg whites...it turned out GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I did the meringue exactly like the recipe calls for but as soon as i added the sugar it just turned to foamy soup. Researched Allrecipes for how to make a meringue and found a couple tips i will try next time-do not use a plastic bowl, room temp egg whites, add sugar from the beginning-pudding was delicious tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States