Banana Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great pudding recipe! I make it for 6 serving, put first 6 ingredients in 8 cup Pyrex, mocrowave 3 minutes on high then put in saucepan and over simmering water. Cooks much faster with no lumps. Use it for banana pudding, fruit trifles and plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wow. I grew up in Virginia and had my grandma's banana pudding at least twice a month. Didn't actually realize that it was a "Southern Recipe" until I started craving it and looking around online for an easy fix. And it WAS easy. Just as the recipe calls for, I just mixed everything together and started cooking. I don't own a double broiler, so I just threw it in a pot, brought it to boil, and then simmered. The only change I made was adding about a tsp of cinnamon (which I always do to my vanilla pudding). Great texture and flavor. Tastes like my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I thought I would give this a try even after reading comments saying it never thickened up, because I've made all sorts of custards and puddings before, and never had a problem. Problem! This never thickened up! Even after 35 minutes of cooking and after the addition of 2 more tablespoons of cornstarch. It did not even taste good. Don't know what went wrong, but I'll stick to my trusted pudding recipe next time. I wanted to try something different for Easter dessert, After using up the last of the milk, the last 2 eggs, and the last drop of vanilla(I only added the vanilla after cooking, to see if this recipe could be salvaged as a sauce or something) and with all the stores closed on Easter, I had to think on the fly and come up with something to make with the bananas and vanilla wafers. I spread peanut butter on the bottom of the wafers, put a sliced banana on top of the peanut butter, and made sandwiches. I froze them, then dipped in melted chocolate chips, topped with Easter sprinkles, then refroze. They were fantastic and everyone raved! Anyways, kudos to whoever is able to make this recipe, and good luck to whomever tries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very yummy. Next time I will cut the sugar a bit though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Delicious. I made this in an 8X8" pan, but found there wasn't enough pudding to completely cover 2 layers of vanilla wafers. I recommend using a smaller dish than that, or using only one layer of wafers, but that's just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Excellent! I made my in the microwave... Took less than 10 minutes (but I may have a fast microwave). I read someone else had done it that way, too, but there were no instructions. I looked at a recipe for rice pudding and some of the ingredients were very similar, so I just followed that. Beat eggs, add milk, sugar, cornstarch and salt. Mix well. Microwave on high (in a microwavable dish - I use an 8 cup pyrex measuring dish because this does bubble up) for 2 minutes, stir and then nuke at 50% stirring every 2 minutes until it thickens. Mine only took about 6 minutes... It will take almost double the time if you double it. Thank you Vette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great recipe, simple an old fashioned how it should be! Didn't care much for the double broiler part as it took forever but I just used a pot instead, I use those rubber spatulas an that keeps it from sticking to the bottom of the pan. Very tasty!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I lost my mother's recipe for homemade Banana pudding... Sadly, my mother has been gone since 2000... This recipe is EXACTLY like hers... I was so happy when I made it earlier tonight...! Thank You VETTE 66...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corryton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I used the advice from another reviewer to mix ingredients prior to the double broiler...definitely easier. Also, I added fresh ground cinnamon on top mixed with a dash of nutmeg. It looked pretty and added a little extra favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We loved this banana pudding recipe. Very simple to make and tastes great warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Fare

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States