Banana Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I needed a quick dessert for a last minute dinner. This was a hit. Everyone loved it and asked for seconds. The entire 9x13 cake was gone. I used 1 cup of banana instead of 3/4. I also added 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 cup of spiced rum. This cake was so light and fluffy and soooo delicious. A nice change from the denser muffins and breads I usually make with bananas. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar due to lack of time, next time I might try it with a cream cheese frosting sprinkled with chopped nuts. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I make this cake all the time for family functions and I ALWAYS get compliments on it. I make the glaze a lot thinner because the cake is really so good that you don't need a lot of icing on it. Icing the cake as thick as the picture shows doesn't add anything to the cake except calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I got this recipe last Thursday and decided to surprise my family for Labor day! Boy, were they deliciously surprised. They really enjoyed the flavor which all said it tasted very much like banana pudding. It was really easy to make. For the frosting, I simply opted to dust the cake with powdered sugar lightly. I make/sell cakes and from our gathering, I have four orders already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very, very disappointed. I was so looking forward to making this cake. Because of many good reviews, I was certain that it would be a hit. Well, was it not only just a cake that tasted like banana bread. The glaze (per recipe) was so sickeningly sweet, I had to brush my teeth just to get the taste out of my mouth. I followed this recipe to a "T", so I know I made no mistakes to the original. I don't know, maybe if I had used cream cheese frosting, as some other people did, I may have been happy with it. But as it stands right now, I will not waste my time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
i've made this recipe a tons of times already and it comes out perfect everytime:) i've made it into cupcakes, layer cake, bundt cake- they've all come out great. all my friends consider this recipe my forte. thanks barbara! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This cake was a breeze to make and tasted good. It was very moist (almost too moist). I think I may use a little less pudding and bananas next time but other than that it had a great banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a very moist cake and has good flavor. I am not sure if it is called a pudding cake because pudding is part of the recipe or if it is because the cake actually has a pudding like consistency. I think it is a great doctored cake recipe but would probably choose a different recipe if I was trying to impress. Having said that... it is my most requested cake by the church youth group. :^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
The cake was too sweet! I used the Duncan Hines Classic Yellow Cake and Richfood Instant Banana Cream. I also used milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Cake came out really moist. I didn't have any banana pudding so I made this cake with DH Banana Supreme and Vanilla pudding. It came out light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Family loved it. Moist and not too dense, great flavor. Nice change from using my black bananas in regular banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States