Banana Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is delicious! I have made it several times. It's great as it's written, but it's fun to change up a bit too. I've added orange juice in place of water and applesauce in place of the oil to make it lighter. I've made it with different glazes as well. I've done a chocolate glaze that tasted delicious with the banana. I've also just sprinkled plain powdered sugar on top in a pinch. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
delicious!!! I did make some changes - I used Devils food cake, 2 full bananas, a splash of vanilla and peanut butter chips!! OH MY GOODNESS... nothing better than PB, Choc and banana!! Also for icing - I melted a 1/2 can of choc frosting and drizzled over cake. YUM Addition - I made this cake again but with yellow cake and vanilla pudding... added 3 bananas and white choc chips.. OH MY HEAVENS.. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Skelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The cake part was pretty good...very moist. I did not care for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
made with stabilized whipped cream frosting from wilton. added bannana pudding for filling or banana filling with whipped cream folded into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I wasn't sure if I should give this cake 3 stars or 4. I think if you like cake mixes you will like this cake. It's moist, light, and airy. However, if you prefer cakes made from scratch, you will probably not be impressed. You can't disguise the taste of a boxed cake mix with a package of pudding and some mashed banana. It's good for what it is but not a fantastic cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
We cannot get enough of this cake! We have made it three times in the past two weeks! I brought it to the beach during spring break, the 5 of us devoured it in one evening! I also made it in two square pans as a layered Bday cake for my bestie who loves bananas! BTW, dont worry if you only use 3 eggs, we didnt have enough the first time and it was still fantastic!! Also, we added in twice the bananas called for. Yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I've made this twice in the last three days. It's delicious! I didn't have instant banana pudding, so I used vanilla. I also used a different icing, here it is: 8 ounces cream cheese 4 tablespoons butter 2 1/2 cups icing sugar 2 teaspoons vanilla 1. Soften cheese and butter. 2. Beat well. 3. Add sugar and vanilla. 4. Beat again. 5. Spread on cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The cake itself is fine...moist, with nice banana flavor. It tastes just like banana bread. The glaze is not a good accompaniment. It's too sugary sweet. A cream cheese frosting would work better. This was good, but I probably wouldn't make it again. I'd rather just make some banana bread loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
super easy and super de-lish which makes it 5 star in my book any day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
very easy to make. i used 3 bananas to give it extra banana flavor. super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States