Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
These are very good--moist and flavourful. I will def. make again, may try dates instead of prunes but the prunes were fine. Forgot to share the Weight Watcher points! 4 points per muffin. Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
All my bananas were green, so I substituted two 4-oz. jars of banana baby food. Although the muffins weren't glamorous, they were moist and healthy, and I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
These muffins seem a bit odd at first with the prunes, but once you get used to the idea, they're really pretty tasty. A nice, healthy breakfast food. Better-tasting the second day after the spices have developed their flavor in the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I'm not normally a prune eater, but I accidentally bought a box of prunes instead of raisins, so...I made these muffins and they were WONDERFUL! My husband and children thought they were scrumptious and they didn't turn up their nosees because they were eating prunes. I have made them a couple of times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
delicious. moist and soft good banana flavour. not at all chewy. sneaky way to get kids to eat something at least resembling fruit. Also another big hit with the ladies at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, Ayrshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
These were really quite good. The prunes add a rather interesting taste. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
We really enjoyed these muffins- great texture and the taste was unique in a good way. The prunes added a nice sweetness without being overwhelmingly "pruney" or too sweet like raisins. I subbed 1/2 c whole wheat flour which made them maybe a little tougher, but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iluvpickles
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Carefully followed recipe except added a bit more vanilla extract. I hand mixed everything so I wouldn't overmix. A good recipe to use up over ripe bananas and unwanted prunes. Nice banana flavor. Very pretty presentation with all the cracks on the top. Fine crumb texture - lovely! Because I like my baked goods sweet - I might add more sugar next time. Only complaint - prunes really stick to your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
The name will turn your guests off, but I guarantee that they'll eat two. I made mini-muffins, and they came out great. I used half of the sugar, and I didn't cut up the date enough. Next time, I'll cut them into smaller pieces so that the prune taste isn't so overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Great muffins - nice and moist. Would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamnto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States