Banana Prune Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe, as I love bananas and prunes. The batter seemed much thicker and stickier than most muffins I've made, but they came out wonderful--dense and moist, not chewy. I 'healthified' the recipe by using 1 c. white whole wheat flour & 1/2 c. all-purp flour, and I also decreased the sugar to 1/4 c and used brown sugar instead of white. I added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts for the great fat they provide. Next time I'll try adding wheat bran and substituting honey for the sugar ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Delicious! and they're good for you too! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Thanks for the recipe, my 2-1/2 year old grandaughter REALLY NEEDS prunes in her diet and we made these together. I had some really ripe pears that needed to be eaten, so I used one cup of them instead of bananas. We made mini muffins so they are easy for her to eat. She loves them and so do I. Mom and Grandpa also had their share. Did substitute 1/2 cup WW flour for more fiber, still moist and delish. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Delicious and moist. I made these with gluten-free flour and they turned out great. Next time I may add some nuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
What a fabulous muffin! Very moist and delicious. I used dates instead of prunes because that's what I had on hand. I also only had one banana, so I made up the difference with vanilla yogurt. This is definitely a keeper. I'll be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Excellent! Prunes are not easy to get children to eat but these were great! A little butter and yum! I added a little extra cinnamon. I think next time I may add some more spices for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I love this recipe. I'm not big on banana cakes so I didn't add as many bananas & it still turned out pretty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari, Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I sat these on the counter to cool, came back, and my husband (who hates bananas and prunes)had eaten 3 already. He thought the prunes were raisins. I didn't change a thing in the recipe; they're quite good as is. I used paper liners and they peeled right off. I will definitely make these again. Next time I'll try using a little of the flour when chopping the prunes. They are so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I use this often, too bad prunes have such a poor acceptence, they are so very nutritious. I always use half white whole wheat and half non-bromated unbleached flour. They are great for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These are fabulous. Fantastic muffins.. I followed the recipe to a T..the only thing i altered was that i didnt use the full amount of the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon part.. i left back perhaps 3 tablespoons.. It wasnt necessary else the muffins would have been too dry BUt..! this recipe is a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States