Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This was a VERY yummy cake. Followed the directions exactly (except didn't add the nuts) and I had NO problems with sticking or overflowing in the pan. Will definitely make this cake again!! As stated in the directions, I put the glaze on while it was still in the pan, but I used a chopstick to poke holes in it first. I would do everything exactly the same way next time. Thank you for this delicious cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
1) I've made this recipe for my office about 3 or 4 times. The first time, I removed the cake from the oven, poured the sauce on top of it while it was still in the bundt pan, and left it to cool overnight, because it was already getting late. The next day, I started freaking out when I could not separate the cake from the pan. So I cut it into slices while still in the pan and served on a platter. Everyone loved how moist it was since the sauce soaked through. I told a supervisor I had actually messed up, but he started asking for this "goof-up cake" for the office get-togethers. 2) I made this recipe for my mother the correct way and she broke her diet, because it's pretty irresistible if you like sweets. 3) When my supervisor requested the "goof-up cake" again, I sprayed the bundt pan with Pam baking spray with flour, which was more effective than butter spray alone in separating the cake from the pan. 4) Using a mini spatula that fits in the grooves of my pan made separating even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole9z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I just made this recipe as written for our bed and breakfast guests. It was too much batter for my Bundt pan, so I had leftovers of about 1 1/2 cups to put into my little Rachel Ray oval baker, for my husband and me. I followed the suggestion of others and poked holes in the top of the cake AFTER I flipped it. Then I drizzled the glaze over. Let me tell you, this glaze with the cream is heads above the plain brown sugar/butter glaze suggested for the apple cake with caramel glaze. (also a winner). I'll use this glaze always - its' divine! Then I sprinkled additional nuts on the top for decoration, and to hide any holes the glaze didn't cover. My cake had to cook the full hour and twenty minutes. It was amazing! Not very dense, but the glaze takes it from light semi sweet to very sweet and yummy! My husband, who gives true reviews, said, and I quote (bleeped), "Man, that shxxxxt is fxxxxxxg good!" :O Truer words were never spoken! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Rich and delicious. Has a lighter texture than traditional pound cakes. I poured half the glaze into the pan as directed, but then poured the rest on the top after putting the cake on a platter. I had more batter than could fit in my bundt pan, so I ended up with an extra baby cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Delicious! My family loved this, especially my 5 year-old daughter. The caramel glaze is so good; I plan to use the glaze for other desserts, ice cream topping, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I have been using a recipe for 30 yrs using a yellow cake mix with a box of instant pudding and bananas, but today I didn't have a cake mix, so found this recipe and it will ALWAYS be the recipe I use for banana pound cake. I added a cup of flaxseed meal and I separated the eggs, beat the egg white and then folded them in, it made the best cake with a little added fiber. I used loaf pans and this recipe made 3 loaves. Glad I was out of cake mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jazzy
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Perfect recipe. I didn't add the pecans and doubled the caramel recipe for extra drizzle on the top after the cake cools. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gresh
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made exactly as written except for glaze. I couldn't see how you would be able to put the glaze on while the cake was still in pan, let it cool then flip it to take out of pan?? That seemed like it would have been a huge mess? I cooled it in pan for ten mins flipped it , used a kabob skewer to poke about 15 holes in the cake then drizzled the glaze over the cake and topped the cake with more chopped pecans. Not much of the glaze seemed to get into the holes, maybe after sitting awhile, either way the cake turned out very moist and delicious ! Wish the glaze would thicken a bit more after sitting because it's a bit messy but tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rita's recipes
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is my second time of making this cake as is. Do not need to change a thing. I baked the cake in my Angel food cake pan and 4 cupcakes. The cupcakes were moist and delicious with no glaze. Makes a wonderful bread also, just leave off the glaze. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita's recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Excellent! The cake is very moist, and delicious. I would definitely make this cake again. The only change I made is that I made the cake using einkorn flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States