Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I agree with Alician, can't add all the sauce this makes to the bottom of a bundt cake. Change: make the sauce after the cake comes out, and pour most of it over the top. Good otherwise, I am eating a piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made this cake for my brother's birthday. Followed the recipe but omitted the nuts and only had 3 ripe bananas. I prepared the non-stick bundt pan as directed, yet it got stuck. After getting it out and some places ripped, I was able to piece them back together. Poured the glaze on top instead of in the pan to cover the torn pieces. The cake was good, but not spectacular. The glaze tasted better than the cake which was a must on this cake. I thought it was ok. My family and relatives liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
delicious and moist--even without the glaze. I left out the nuts and added a handful of chopped fresh pineapple. a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadAveMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I didn't do the caramel glaze but I baked the cake exactly as the directions say, no modifications. Very moist. I baked the batter in mini 1 cup bundts. I'd say this is more a regular cake consistency, not a pound cake density. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Pretty good but I wouldn't consider a Pound Cake, it's a lot lighter. Recipe worked good as mini bundt cakes. I added mini chocolate chips & butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Great recipe. Moist and delicious exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I baked this cake, and it came out delicious. I was out of vanilla extract so I used one teaspoon of lemon extract & one teaspoon of almond extract. I also only had one cup of brown sugar so used 2 cups white sugar & 1 cup one brown sugar. The cake still came out delicious minus my substitutions. I also used vegetable oil instead of shortening. I think this recipe is just a no-fail recipe & the whole family loved it!!! Will indeed make again, except next time I'll have all the ingredients on hand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This cake is awesome! Followd recipe exactly except subbed 1 tbsp praline liqueur for the vanilla in the glaze (I ran out of vanilla!) My husband says he'd give this recipe 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This cake is really good. Mrs B loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Cake tasted fine, but got stuck in the bundt pan. So, I had a mess. I greased and floured the pan just like it said and left it in pan for 10 min. Maybe I should have let it cool 100% before removing. Good thing I had a back up cake for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States