Banana Pound Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yum! Made just the glaze this time. It was sweet but not too sweet. It stayed soft and didn't get hard even after cooling. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Didn't have any nuts on hand, but it was delicious anyway. I followed the recipe to the letter otherwise. I was hesitant to bake it in my only bundt pan (heart shaped) because of other reviews about the large amount of batter...I think my pan may hold even less than standard ones. I used a 13x9 stone pan and baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes. It came out incredibly moist and the flavor is excellent. It is slightly more dense than a regular cake, but, just as other reviewers have said, it isn't really pound cake texture. I used a sharp knife to put slits in the cake every couple of inches or so, and poured the glaze over the cake while it was still pretty hot. It soaked into the slits and left a thin coating on the top. We ate it when it had cooled about 30 minutes and it was incredible! Definitely a recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made this cake tonight & it was AWESOME!!! However, the glaze could be a little thicker...will add a little more sugar next time. Other than that...YUMMMM!!! :d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe! I followed the instructions to the letter and the banana cake was perfect. It has the taste of banana bread but it is a fluffy cake. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made and brought it to work. My boss told me to quit my job and open a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
What a perfectly delicious recipe! Other than adding one teaspoon cinnamon to my dry ingredients, I followed the cake recipe as written. It was done in 1 hour and 20 minutes. I cooled the cake in the pan for 10 minutes and on a cooling rack for 10 minutes before adding the glaze. The only change I made to the glaze was I didn't add the vanilla until it was removed from the heat. This, I"m sure, is from habit. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was good but didn't strike me as pound cake, just tasted like banana bread. it was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I ended up with WAY too much batter for a bundt pan, so my oven is a little messy now...! What I ended up with was pretty tasty, though. I used chocolate chips instead of pecans because one of the people I was making it for has a nut allergy. Also, I didn't use the glaze because the cake was really sweet on its own. If I ever make this again, I think I'll use half as much brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent cake that ages very well--it gets moister in the following days. Made the cake several times and have found the following: 1) The pan matters! The tube pan makes a superior cake versus a bundt pan. The cake is distributed more evenly in the tube pan. Additionally, applying the glaze is done more effectively on a cake from a tub pan as the top is flat and the glaze sets up better. 2) Let both the the glaze and cake cool before applying the glaze. If you apply the glaze when either the cake or glaze is hot than the glaze will essentially seep into the cake (ie, there will really be no glaze). 3) If you want some of the glaze inside the cake than I recommend put holes throught the top of the cake to about an inch from the bottom of the cake. I found a chopstick to be the perfect size--the hole is big enough to poor glaze into but not so big you cannot cover it up with very cool glaze. Note: save a small amount of glaze for plugging the holes--the glaze should almost be a dough-like consistency to plug the holes. 4) Lastly, ignore the part of the directions about pouring the glaze over the cake while still in pan--you will left with a cake where most of the glaze seeps into the top of the cake and becomes indistinguishable from the cake itself (if done while warm). The cake is more appeasing with a visable glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This cake is so unbelievable moist and just taste great! I changed my recipie up a little: instead of 2 cups of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar I used 3 cups of white and added a teaspoon of allspice it was great and I did not even make the icing..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States