Banana Pineapple Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was fantastic. I made it two nights in a row.However the second time I just used vanilla pudding instead of making the custard. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMERCD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
All I can say is...its the best! My friends and I have renamed it Survivor Pie and we have it every Thursday night! One timesaving hint-make the custard one night, cool overnight, then finish the pies in 20 mins the next night. Also don't stop stiring when heating it(under medium heat) on the stove top. It burns easy and clumps up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHASKELL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
A trip to the tropics without leaving home. This pie has great flavor and nice presentation. I used real whipped cream flavored with orange extract for yet another taste sensation. I am supposed to host a dessert bar for my club's progressive dinner in a few weeks, and I believe this may be on the buffet. Thanks Connie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
excellent! very good and easy. One thing that i must let everyone know is that when your making the custard you can not! stop stirring or it will scorch! continuously stir this please or it wont turn out! dont bake ouyr crust and put your custard on when its still warm because if you let it cool it will thicken too much and it wont spread well. But other than that it was great and i've made it 3 times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This recipe brought me a lot of praise, and it is a very refreshing summer dessert. I was pressed for time, so I used 2 (3.4oz.) pkgs of instant french vanilla pudding instead of making the custard. I also added strawberries on top of the bananas, and used oreo cookie crumbs instead of the graham crackers crumbs and real whip cream. It was delicious. My husband wants me to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I tried coconut cookies for the crust. It was absolutely amazing and no fuss to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Delicious although we modified it a bit by using an extra cup of graham crackers and extra 1/2 stick of butter(the crust wasn’t thick enough the first time around)& we used two small packages of French vanilla pudding mix. I chilled the crust a bit before putting the mix on top and also let the pudding set a bit before putting in on the crust and nuts OH MY that was a great addition. I will make this again for sure it’s a delicious and light summer dessert. I'm glad I found it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
In general, this is a delicious dessert, but I felt the custard was grainy and too much work (stirring constantly for over 10 minutes) to come out with a mediocre custard. Next time, I will use vanilla pudding or a different custard recipe instead. I used a walnut crust from this site instead of graham cracker (personal preference). It complemented the dessert very well. I used pineapples in their own juice (all I had), but it would be better in heavy syrup. It was just a tad too tangy in their own juice. I did not let that bear on my rating since the recipe called for heavy syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This recipe was awesome! I made it the first time I ever met my significant others family. It was a HUGE HIT! It was simple to make, the only thing you have to be careful of is when you're making the pudding filling, stir it non-stop or it gets clumpy. RIGHT ON THE TUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cloutier Makarow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My husband absolutely loved this pie! Will definately make again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States