Banana Peanut Butter Cheesecake aka "The Elvis" Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I really expected great things from this and I'm sorry to say I was disappointed. I followed as stated with the exception of using chocolate Graham crackers for the crust. The cake had an overpowering "fake" banana flavor. Next time I will leave out the banana extract and use more real banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this pretty much exact to the recipe, except I added bacon bits tot eh crust to make it a real Elvis inspired recipe. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Star Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I made the recipe as written with the exception of the crust. The first cheesecake I used nutter butter peanut butter cookies, tossed them into the food processor, made an excellent crust. The next cheesecake I made with an Oreo cookie crust. Anyway you go with this, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
What a surprise as I didn't think I was going to like it. I added a layer of the peanut butter chips and milk to the top once cooled. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stanleyindraven
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe was super easy and totally awesome. I added a dark chocolate ganache and peanut butter with some banana slices as toppers to spruce it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I made this for a bake sale at school and it was one of the first few items to sell out, even at $3 a slice! I left out the banana extract, substituted lemon juice for lime, and topped with sliced bananas and velvety cream cheese frosting. I did overcook the crust (my fault, not the recipe's) and should have started on the cream cheese batter while the peanut butter chips were melting (the consistency gets thrown off if you leave them out for too long after boiling), but the important thing is, my first cheesecake turned out to be delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was very good! I decided to use a springform pan, but still did the hot water bath. Be careful with this...I made two cheesecakes this way. One turned out great. On the second, I didn't have the springform pan sealed quite right, and the crust got soggy (the water must have leaked in a bit). Also...be sure to do just two small-medium bananas. I didn't think it looked like a lot and so added an extra banana...and it overwhelmed the peanut butter. Next time, I will stick to the recipe! Still, very good! I covered it with a ganache made from a cup or so of choocolate chips melted into about 1/5 cups of hevy whipping cream, with a teaspoon of vanilla added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilrn2b06
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this recipe for a cookoff with a few changes! I added more peanut butter chips and less banana extract! I used shortbread cookies for the crust too! I also covered cheesecake with banana whipped topping and peanut butter chips! (See photo) It won first place!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bunker Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
So I was a little hesitant to try this until I saw a few more reviews... But then I got into an extremely boring stretch of homework and decided to try it. Man this is good... it tastes like eating a peanut butter banana sandwich on graham cracker bread. I decided to add about half a cup of creamy peanut butter, the good stuff without all the added sugar. I made my chocolate ganache recipe to throw on top and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmrscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

A refreshing smoothie, perfect for breakfast or snack-time.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States