Banana Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Just a tip for fuss free banana mashing... stick them in a zip-lock bag, zip and squeeze! When you're done cut a corner off and you have a pour spout! I do the same for marinades and everything else of the sort! So much cleaner! And less dishes to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Amazing pancakes. Definitely the best I'v ever made. I followed another reviews advice and added 1/2t. of vanilla extract. I also used 2T of applesauce instead of the vegetable oil to make it a little healthier. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
848 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I have found that by measuring the dry ingredients and then putting them through a shifter makes for fluffy pancakes. I also substitute melted butter for the oil, I mix the liquid ingredients including the egg and then add the liquid mixture to the dry and stir to mixed, add two whole banannas and using a potato masher, mush them well. I use 1/4 cup measure per pancake. For thinner add a bit more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
570 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
this was a really simple and yummy recipe! i added vanilla like what many reviewers had suggested and it turned out even more delicious. it was just sweet enough for me. but 1 thing to note is really to cook this on a LOW temperature so that the insides of the pancakes gets cooked. it's also less mushy and easier to turn. i learnt this the hard way. the first time i did this i turned the stove on HIGH and the bottom browned really fast. i was struggling to turn it over but the whole thing basically fell apart cos it was still very soft and mushy inside. the bottom ended up black and i had to throw it out and start from a lower temp. other than that it was yummy =) thx for the recipe Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
My family loved this recipe but I used self rising flour and omitted the salt and added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I also omitted the oil and added 2 Tablespoons of applesauce. And for the peanut butter lover I added to a sauce pan 1 cup of each water, sugar & peanut butter best with smooth peanut butter. And brought this to a boil and cooled I used this as the syrup for the pancakes. So I saved a few calories on the pancakes but added a few on the peanut butter syrup. It was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Simple, easy and delicious. I add 1 tsp of vanilla, a pinch of cinnamon and sliced almonds and Oh God, even better! My housband likes to top it with whipe cream, ice cream and pieces of banana and strawberry. We also like with jam or baked apple slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
What wonderful pancakes!! I made a plain batch and then a batch with toasted pecans added to the batter. Both excellent! The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I adjusted the recipe. I read the "mushy" complaints and decided to only use one banana. They were perfect and had plenty of banana flavor. Everything else in the recipe stayed the same. I will say that it was a large banana so maybe that makes a difference. However, I try to reserve 5 stars for outstanding recipes that DON'T need tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
these were really good i keep overripe bananas in the freezer until i have time to use them i only had one -pureed it - added some vanilla - cooked it on low to med the texture was good - we really enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
I halfed the recipe because I only had one banana! I liked the banana taste, but found the pancake to be too mushy inside like other reviewers. The concept is good, but I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These turned out delicious! Because some of the other reviews said the pancakes were a little flat, I did the following to 'fluff' them up and they were beautiful: to 1 tbsp. of lemon juice add enough milk to make 1 cup and let it stand for at least 5 minutes before adding it to the mix (basically, a substitute for buttermilk). I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, and 1 extra tbsp. of white sugar. I finely chopped the bananas instead of mashing them, as I find this helps make them not as heavy and I like the way there are little banana chunks in the pancakes. To reduce the fat, I used only 1 tbsp. of oil instead of two. In some of them I added peanutbutter/chocolate swirl chips and those were delicious, but very dessert like! Enjoy! (Oh, I would say this serves more like 4... it made 10, 3-4 inch pancakes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States