Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Pretty good cookies. I subbed brown rice flour for the all-purpose and used all butter instead of shortening. Used 1/2 cup raisins instead of nuts. Also used EnerG egg replacer (my son has an egg allergy). Baked the cookies for 13-15 minutes per batch and they came out brown and crispy on the edges and outside and soft on the inside. My husband even liked them, and he's not a big fan of oatmeal cookies. Will use 1/2 the sugar next time because really ripe bananas give these cookies plenty of sweetness. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Having some elderly bananas on hand I decided to give this recipe a try. Yummmy, these are wonderful! I made a couple of changes to the recipe as written. I creamed the shortening, egg, sugar and banana together and then added the dry ingredients. I used pecans in place of walnuts, due to allergies. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I ended up with 4 1/2 dozen cookies, which I'm sure will disappear as soon as the family comes home. Wonderful banana taste without being overpowered by the oatmeal in a soft cookie. I would recommend watching the baking time. 15 minutes would've been too long in my oven; my batches averaged about 11 minutes. Thank you for a tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I may have used to much banana in my recipe because they came out like muffin tops, which wasn't bad, but I wanted a cookie more than a muffin. They were very good reheated and everyone I shared them with thought they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These are awesome. I had a ton of black bananas in my fridge (they make the best bread) and wanted to use them up. Wanted a change from banana bread so I tried this recipe. Changed it slightly: omitted the nutmeg (didn't want it to taste like banana bread), omitted nuts (didn't have), used 1/2c shortening and 1/4 butter, and increased the oats to 2c. Also added a splash of milk (eyeballed it, maybe 1/8c) and 1/2 t vanilla. Fantastic unadulterated banana flavor. Just make sure to watch them carefully, mine came out perfect at exactly 9 min at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Mmm, these are so good. Definitely for lovers of banana bread. I used 1/4 of applesauce instead of the same amount of Crisco, and half brown sugar instead of white. So, so so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
A very good cookies, tasting like a bit of banana bread. I made a double batch of these for my hubby to take to the office and they got rave reviews. However, I baked them for 11 minutes as they got too brown at 400 degrees for 12 minutes; when this adjustment was made, they were a dark brown on the bottom rather than a nice tan color. I also tweeked this recipe by using 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder for increased height of the cookie with no harm done. Delicious with coffee or a cold glass of skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Excellent! We followed the recipe exactly and these are a big hit with the kids, me, and the lifeguards at the pool! Definetely a great way to use those last 2 over-ripe bananas from the bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I loved these- My son has dairy allergies so I am always looking for something with no butter. I love bananas and these were very flavorful and my son loved them too. With the fruit and oats- we use them as breakfast cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
What a great cookie! I love bananas, hubby loves oatmeal....I came out the winner in this one. Doesn't take too "oatmealish". Tastes more like banana bread. No matter, hubby enjoyed them just as much as I did. I followed the recipe exactly on this one and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
These are YUMMY! Very cake-like and moist. Super easy and fast cooking. I used applesauce instead of an egg and the batter is just as delicious (and safe!) as the end product. =) Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States