Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
They tasted just like banana bread, to the point that I wound up asking myself why I didn't just make banana bread with my overripe bananas and save myself the trouble of scooping cookies. Good flavor, I just was looking for something a little more cookie-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Too spongy! Not really a cookie more like a mini sponge cake.Way too much sugar. If you are looking for a chewy oatmeal cookie this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Awesome cookies!! Perfect Birthday treat to send to my son's school. The school does not allow nuts so I had to omit those and they also do not allow chocolate. Most kids send cupcakes but I always try to send something a little bit healthier for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I make these with only 1/2 cup sugar. You can't tell the difference. I also substitute chocolate chips for the walnuts or use both. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
These cookies are like many people have said they are very light in banana flavour and cook more like a muffin. They are good if you like cake like cookies but I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotia Garden-Kubbernus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Meh. Not the most exciting cookie but a decent alternative use for mature bananas. I omitted the shortening (yuck) and substituted homemade applesauce. Perhaps that's why this recipe was so one dimensional. These are really spongy, cakey little guys. In fact, it might be a nice muffin batter.... Anyway, I added a hefty dose of raisins to the second and third batch and they were much better. Several days later: My preschooler devoured these cakies. After substituting applesauce for shortening and reducing the sugar, these cakies turned out to be a pretty high-fiber, moderately nutritious snack. On storing: they seemed to sweat a bit in tupperware. They got a bit sticky but, like I said, our kid is over the moon for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe! The nutmeg and cinnamon gave the cookies an interesting flavor depth and this cookie is mellow enough to add extras to, like dried fruit (i added cranberries). I'll be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great cookies - nice to have another way to use up ripe bananas besides banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Super good. I made some changes. Used 1/4 butter 1/2 c shortning. Split the sugar between white and brown. They were really moist...even after I realized I forgot the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These did not turn out well at all. I personally hated the banana taste and they were very hard. Maybe I did something wrong, but I threw them all away. Sorry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States