Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This recipe is a great beginning, but a few changes are necessary to make the cookies the type that everyone raves about: 1.Add a banana to the mush and a quarter-cup of oatmeal for more banana flavor, otherwise you barely get the taste . 2. Skip the cloves, add another teaspoon of cinnamon. 3. Add a 1/2-3/4 teaspoon of baking soda so that the cookies rise a bit, they don't in the original recipe. 4. Switch half of the white flour w/ whole wheat flour, it tastes the same and is much healthier. 5. Use white choc. chips!--huge difference, goes much better w/ banana taste. These changes make the cookies superb, and your friends won't stop asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This deserves five stars. (And I'm stingy with giving out five star ratings.) The cookies are soft, slightly spicy, and absolutely delicious. I didn't have cloves so I used a bit of pumpkin pie spice and the results were fantastic. The cookie sheet was ravaged by my husband and I before the cookies even had a chance to cool. EDIT: January 29, 2009 I've been making these for a few years now and they are always awesome. I add a bit more banana and vanilla and some nutmeg and extra cinnamon- I like a lot of spice in my cookies. I have also used butter and margarine or a mix because of the whole trans fat thing. (No more margarine for me!) I have also added milk chocolate chips to half of the cookies for my hubby. Still a keeper after all these years! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is a good cookie, it's just not a great cookie. Other than using butter rather than shortening I followed the recipe as written. This is not short on flavor, as the oatmeal, banana and nutty flavors are all prominent. It has a rustic, whole grain texture, not cakey at all, just that of a chewy oatmeal cookie. There is nothing wrong with the recipe, but it will never make a chocolate chip cookie move over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Tired of banana bread, I chose this recipe as a way of using up ripe bananas. I used four bananas (not one), margarine instead of shortening, extra cinnamon, no cloves and some chocolate chips but otherwise kept the quantities of the ingredients unchanged. The result was a very moist and tasty cake-like cookie, which was particularly good fresh from the oven. I was surprised at how many cookies it made. I shall make these again when I have bought too many bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I didn't hae bananas for once, but had some banana cream pudding mix, used that instead. After doing so, I realized I should have perhaps added more moisture to take the place of the wetness of the fruit, but actually, these turned out great. I made them three ways 1)rolled in balls - they formed puffy domes all nice and soft 2)rolled in balls and flattened slightly - nice thick even cookies that were crispy on the outside, soft on the inside 3)spooned out and flattened pretty well - crisp crunchies. My family loved the three kinds from just one batch. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
SOOO good, interesting as well. I used butter instead of shortening, nutmeg instead of cloves, omitted the walnuts and added 3/4 c chocolate chunks (mostly due to what I had or did not have). Like other reviewers, I also needed to bake them for 12 min. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
These cookies were really yummy, especially after adding raisins and a handful of unsweetened shredded coconut. I made them plain and with the above additions and the raisin-coconut addition made them soooo much better. I like the plain ones too, but my boyfriend only likes the ones with the extras. (I didn't have walnuts so neither of the batches had them). I should mention that I tried to make these a bit healthier by using only 1/2 cup of shortening and adding extra banana to increase moistness...I used 1 cup banana and it worked great. Also, I didn't have cloves on hand so I used pumpkin pie spice like someone suggested and it worked well. In the end, these are a nice change from banana bread, but I think I still prefer to use my extra bananas for banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
They are soft cookies but do not have the texture of cakes (which is good). The rolled oats give them a good texture. The taste is not bad but need some getting used to. I cut the shortening to 1/2 C, sugar to 3/4 C and used pumpkin pie spice instead of cloves. Also, instead of adding walnuts, I substitute with chocolate chips (1 C). In addition, I used 3 medium-sized bananas. Two thumbs up for the fact that they are healthy cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
AWESOME! Use these changes for perfect cookies! replace 1cup whole wheat flour for the white, cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. add 1 beaten egg white with the egg. this while help the dough from getting dry and will help them rise. flatten cookie on cookie sheet(they will rise). bake 10 min. Rasins work as a good sub. for nuts. suggestion: if you really want a banana tase sub 1/2 vanella extract for banana extract. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic_mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Yum! I used a 1/2 cup real butter (I never use shortening) & doubled the banana for moisture, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup white flour and I did not have enough brown sugar, so I used 1/2 cup brown & 1/2 cup white. I also only used about 1/8 tsp cloves as I did not want to over-power the banana flavor. These turned out WAY better than I expected and I found it hard to stop eating the uncooked dough! I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States