Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Christos&Lesya
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Simple light taste.Banana cake like.We will try a next variation with prunes or-and dates.The bananas we had was not ripe so we bake in a moderate oven for few min some :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christos&Lesya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
SO Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Fabulous - the whole batch only lasted one day! Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
They did have a very cakey texture and didn't spread or rise. They reminded me of the mini banana nut muffins you get at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was hoping for more of a banana taste to these cookies. They were just ok for me, but everyone else thought they were great. They had a very cakey texture and only took 10 mins to bake. So take others advice and watch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
very moist cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
They are soft cookies but do not have the texture of cakes (which is good). The rolled oats give them a good texture. The taste is not bad but need some getting used to. I cut the shortening to 1/2 C, sugar to 3/4 C and used pumpkin pie spice instead of cloves. Also, instead of adding walnuts, I substitute with chocolate chips (1 C). In addition, I used 3 medium-sized bananas. Two thumbs up for the fact that they are healthy cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This recipe is a great beginning, but a few changes are necessary to make the cookies the type that everyone raves about: 1.Add a banana to the mush and a quarter-cup of oatmeal for more banana flavor, otherwise you barely get the taste . 2. Skip the cloves, add another teaspoon of cinnamon. 3. Add a 1/2-3/4 teaspoon of baking soda so that the cookies rise a bit, they don't in the original recipe. 4. Switch half of the white flour w/ whole wheat flour, it tastes the same and is much healthier. 5. Use white choc. chips!--huge difference, goes much better w/ banana taste. These changes make the cookies superb, and your friends won't stop asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
A nice change from banana bread and muffins when you have ripe bananas to use up. I used whole wheat flour to make them even healthier. They had a wonderful soft muffin like texture. A double recipe was gone in no time at all in this home full of teens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I use butter not shortening. My kids LOVE these cookies..very very good (and healthy too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States