Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Tired of banana bread, I chose this recipe as a way of using up ripe bananas. I used four bananas (not one), margarine instead of shortening, extra cinnamon, no cloves and some chocolate chips but otherwise kept the quantities of the ingredients unchanged. The result was a very moist and tasty cake-like cookie, which was particularly good fresh from the oven. I was surprised at how many cookies it made. I shall make these again when I have bought too many bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These taste great, but they are very cake-like in texture and don't have the chewiness of a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
good cookies, I used butter instead of shortening, will add more cinnamon next time too! very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottagobackintime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
As I have to watch my diet closely, this recipe needed some changes for me. I used organic applesauce in place of shortening. Per one of the reviews I omitted the clove, added 1/4 cup organic oatmeal and used 1/2 cup organic AP flour and 1/2 cup organic whole wheat (in place of the 1 cup flour), 1 teaspoon baking soda. The cooking time was 15 minutes (Its Houston, sea-level, humidity, etc). The cookies came out great. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
3.10.08 Good banana flavor. Slight nut taste. Can't really taste the cinnamon. Good texture, even after being out of the oven for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
When you take these out of the oven the are very soft, let them cool they will firm up. If you dont like cloves just omit. I like them but my family prefers them with out it. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
The cookies turned out really tasty and all of my friends raved about them when I brought them straight out of the oven to happy hour. It was a great way to use up my overripe bananas. I did make some of the slight changes suggested by one reviewer; 2 tspn of cinnamon instead of the ground cloves, 2 ripe bananas instead of 1/2 cup (1 banana) and I also sprinkled the tops of each cookie with sugar to sweeten them slightly. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zmo
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
A good cookie. I used 1 cup of butter instead of shortening. The recipe states to use 1/2 cup (1 banana), and that is a perfect amount to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Super Tasty! I did make a few changes: subed oat flour, did not add cloves, used only 1/2cup butter and 1cup flaxmeal, only 3/4 cup sugar, I used 4 super ripe bananas and added 1 cup white chocolate chips. They were baked last night as I was getting the kids ready for bed. They were all gone this morning! I have already bought more bananas today to make these again for xmas gifts. Mine did not spread at all, possbily due to my changes. Next time I think I will use only 1/2 cup sugar since the bananas are sweet alone and the chips add a lot of flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Delicious, I use 1 cup of bananas instead of 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States