Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Quite good. I had stacks of bananas on hand so made these plus a banana cake and banana choc dessert from this site as well to use them up. They seem to freeze well which is what I was looking for. I didn't have the cloves on hand so left them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I thought that these cookies turned out good. I liked the flavour, but not so much the texture. Even making them very small and baking for up to 15min they still came out seeming undercooked: very wet (beyond moist) and a little mushy. However, people at worked really liked them and said they didn't mind the texture. I used butter instead of shortening(maybe that affected the texture?), left out the cloves, added chocolate chips, and used roasted almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The thing I like about these cookies is that they aren't cakey and have a good crunch on the outside, while being moist inside. I followed the recipe exactly except I didnt use the cloves, I used the pumpkin pie spice like someone else mentioned. I also had no walnuts, so I used white choc chips. Be sure to flatten these out a little if you dont like the round, puffy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
YUMMY!!!!! I increased the banana to 1 cup. I only had 2.5 cups of oats and they still came out great! They did not spread too much, but they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made this recipe as is and it came out fine. They taste just like banana bread. They just came out of the oven and seem very cake-like in texture. I added 1/2 cup semi-sweet mini chips. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEDY
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These are delicious oatmeal cookies. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup AP, added a tiny bit more soda, and omitted the cloves. Oh yeah, I also used 1 stick of real butter and 1/4 cup Crisco. Mine, I thought, were actually too puffy and didn't spread. The second pan I flattened slightly before putting in the oven and they turned out fine. Nice brown sugar, banana, nut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camp0433
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I am not a big banana fan, but with that being said they were very good. I thought they were a bit too soft after 12 minutes in the oven, but they firmed up a bit by the second day so they were perfect cookie consistency. I will make these again for the banana lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I'm always looking for a way to use up all the overripe bananas and we loved this recipe. I did make a couple of changes though--I replaced the white flour with freshly ground whole wheat pastry flour and instead of using shortening, I used coconut oil. Wonderful!! and healthy for my family, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I was hoping these would be chewy like an oatmeal raisin cookie but they were more like dry little muffin tops. Tasted ok, but I was expecting them to be more like cookies. I used butter instead of shortening. Make sure you press these down with a fork before baking because they do not spread AT ALL and will be raw in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is a good cookie, it's just not a great cookie. Other than using butter rather than shortening I followed the recipe as written. This is not short on flavor, as the oatmeal, banana and nutty flavors are all prominent. It has a rustic, whole grain texture, not cakey at all, just that of a chewy oatmeal cookie. There is nothing wrong with the recipe, but it will never make a chocolate chip cookie move over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States