Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This cookie is pretty good. Not my favorite, but the banana flavor was a nice change. They are a little more cakey than I expected. I omitted the walnuts and instead of cinnamon and cloves I used pumpkin spice. These did not spread, so I used a fork to push them down. After they were cooled I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
These are my boyfriend's all time favorite cookies now that I've introduced him to them. I added another banana to the recipe to give it more flavor and usually make them without the walnuts. Oh so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These cookies are great! I used light butter instead of shortening and splenda instead of sugar. I did't have cloves and used nutmeg. I would use less butter next time. They do not spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
These cookies were really yummy, especially after adding raisins and a handful of unsweetened shredded coconut. I made them plain and with the above additions and the raisin-coconut addition made them soooo much better. I like the plain ones too, but my boyfriend only likes the ones with the extras. (I didn't have walnuts so neither of the batches had them). I should mention that I tried to make these a bit healthier by using only 1/2 cup of shortening and adding extra banana to increase moistness...I used 1 cup banana and it worked great. Also, I didn't have cloves on hand so I used pumpkin pie spice like someone suggested and it worked well. In the end, these are a nice change from banana bread, but I think I still prefer to use my extra bananas for banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
SOOO good, interesting as well. I used butter instead of shortening, nutmeg instead of cloves, omitted the walnuts and added 3/4 c chocolate chunks (mostly due to what I had or did not have). Like other reviewers, I also needed to bake them for 12 min. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This is a very yummy cookie! I have to say they are addictive and you will eat the whole batch in a day! I made some changes to suit my needs. I used 1/2 c. splenda and 1/2c. brown sugar, two medium bananas instead of the recommended amount.I also added 1/2c. raisins that had been softened in a little warm water so they wouldn't be hard little rocks.I had to flatten the cookies prior to baking with a glass, as they did not spread. I also omitted the walnuts, but I think they would have been nice and will add to the next batch which I will be making soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This deserves five stars. (And I'm stingy with giving out five star ratings.) The cookies are soft, slightly spicy, and absolutely delicious. I didn't have cloves so I used a bit of pumpkin pie spice and the results were fantastic. The cookie sheet was ravaged by my husband and I before the cookies even had a chance to cool. EDIT: January 29, 2009 I've been making these for a few years now and they are always awesome. I add a bit more banana and vanilla and some nutmeg and extra cinnamon- I like a lot of spice in my cookies. I have also used butter and margarine or a mix because of the whole trans fat thing. (No more margarine for me!) I have also added milk chocolate chips to half of the cookies for my hubby. Still a keeper after all these years! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
i doubled the banana but it still worked great. easy to make and deeeeelicious. the hubby and the toddler both loved em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
My whole family REALLY enjoyed this recipe. The great thing is that I don't feel bad giving my children this cookie. I doubled the amount of bananas and used half the amount of ground cloves. Also, I used chocolate chips instead of walnuts. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I LOVED these cookies. Wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Lois has taken my favorite cookie and added my favorite fruit. I am sometimes leery of baking with bananas, especially cookies, because they can sometimes come out too soft or the banana flavor is too overwhelming. Not these - these were perfect. Just a hint of banana and just a hint of walnuts. I will make these again! Thanks, Lois! (I needed a full 10 mins. to bake these and they did not spread at all. I used a mini ice-cream scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States