Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These were really good. I substituted the cloves with nutmeg. Made them twice will make again and will add nuts for crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
We enjoyed these using 1 cup of wheat flour and 1 cup of white. Used butter since I didn't have margarine. They don't spread thin so that's why they're not crunchy. I just consider them fluffy cookies. Made about 4 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I'm going to call these ones 'banana bread cookies' because that's what they remind me of! I made these earlier today - they were quite good, both directly out of the oven and once they were cooled. I made a few minor changes just for personal preference - used half packed brown sugar and half white sugar, and substituted 1tsp nutmeg for the cloves - but I'm sure they'd be just as good as written. I also added an extra half a cup of oats, since I used quick oats and they're a bit smaller. The batter seemed runny to me but even so, the dough didn't spread in the oven, resulting in soft, thick, chewy cookies - just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
substituted 1/4 butter with 1/4 cup peanut butter.. good cookies.. not overly cakey. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julie
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Modifications. No cloves 1/2 tsp nutmeg instead. 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. These cookies were fluffy and delicious. A perfect way to use up my over ripe bananas. Will bake these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LWSilverman
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Super easy. Easy to double and when I ran out of oats, I just used Rice Krispies as a substitute and for some crunch. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWSilverman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Really delicious! I baked them at 350 for 9 minutes. Lightly cooked is the way to go! Worth a try, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
As written, I think it's a little heavy on the cloves (can't believe other reviewers find the cookies bland!!) Like some other reviewers, I modified the recipe...used half and half brown/white sugar,1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and craisins instead of chocolate chips. Came out beautifully spicy and moist. Cakey, but I've never found a banana cookie recipe that wasn't. Will definitely make again. Might try zesting in a bit or orange if using craisins again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I was very disappointed by these cookies. They were very cakey and endlessly chewy. They sounded good in theory, but don't bother making them, you will only be let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broad Channel, New York, USA
Living In: Howard Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
did not love the clove in here but otherwise enjoyed the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States