Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These are so freakin' good!! I used 1 1/4 cup whole grain flour and 3/4 cup white flour, just under 1 cup sugar, and added an extra cup chocolate chips. I also added an extra VERY ripe banana to the wet ingredients before adding the flour mixture. Baked at 375 for 10 minutes! So moist and just awesome. Can't say enough about these. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These are pretty good. I made them exactly according to the recipe. They turned out very soft and fluffy, cake-like. The cinnamon and cloves compliment the banana flavor. I think raisins would be a better addition than chocolate chips and that is what I will do next time. Another great recipe for my overripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
these cookies were very nice, and i really liked the flavours but as others have said they turned out more like flat cakes, the mixture was very much like a cake mixture. don`t get me wrong they tasted nice but i prefer my cookies to be crunchier more like a biscuit, so i was a little dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wigan, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I tried this recipe because I had over-ripe bananas. I calculated for 18 cookies but it made 36! I don't like cloves so I omitted it but put in chopped walnuts instead of chocolate chips. Like others, my husband said that they tasted like banana bread. For a soft cookie I think they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I agree that these were more like "cakies" (as another reviewer called them) than cookies but they were still fantastic. I used butter instead of marg and used raisins instead of chocolate chips. I was worried at first because my batter was pretty thin (cake like) but I just spooned it onto the baking sheet and hoped for the best. They did spread out quite a bit while baking. I scaled the recipe down to 12 and got 18 good sized "cakies". Will make these again and again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
These are pretty darned good, and a great way to use up some overripe bananas. I subbed walnut pieces for the chocolate chips (wanting something a little healthier for my snack-happy 8 y.o.) and used apple bake spice (Watkins) for the cinnamon and clove. I like the cake-y texture....it's like eating little banana nut muffins. Thanks for sharing this good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These are scrumptious! I halved the recipe, but used 2 bananas. They are very moist and chock full of banana-chocolate goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My children (5 & 7) loved these cookies. My 5 year old, who is a very picky eater, commented "You should make these every day!" I substituted butter instead of margarine and raisins instead of chocolate chips. These cookies are moist and cake-like, much more fun than banana bread. Next time, I plan to use brown sugar and white sugar. The spices were just right. The recipe made 3 dozen large cookies, which my boys were eager to share with the other kids in the neighborhood, who liked them too. Tip: Save your overripe bananas in the freezer. When you are ready to use them wash the peel right off under warm running water and defrost the inside of the bananas in the microwave. That way, when your urge to bake hits you, you will always have overripe bananas on hand. And they never have to go to waste when you are too busy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was a great recipe. Super banana flavor. You need to use very ripe bananas to get the stronger banana flavor. Almost totally black. I put in 1/2 t. salt and 3/4 t. soda. Just changed a little according to the reviews I read. I used raisins instead of choc. chips. I bet choc. covered raisins would be good. Anyway, not as cakie this way. Best banana cookie recipe I've ever used. Thanks so much!! For sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookyldy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These are great!!! One adjustment was I added a 1/4 cup more sugar. Otherwise, these were moist, delicious cookies!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States