Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Not too bad! I made some modifications similar to another user - used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also used about half a tsp of nutmeg instead of cloves simply because I don't have any cloves. I thought they were a bit floury tasting and might try using 3 cups oats and 1 cup flour. I'm not sure if that will work or not. I will also add the bananas last next time so that I have some banana pieces instead of just the flavor. These are not your traditional cookie, but that should be apparent. I thought they were good and even my picky 16 year old daughter liked them. I have dough in the fridge for the weekend and I bet they'll taste even better after the flavors have blended more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Excellent!! I just made these and they are perfect! They are quite cake-like but thats exactly what I was looking for. I only made a few adjustments due to supplies on hand. I only used 2 bananas (all I had) and replaced the cloves with 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I made 1/2 a batch with chocolate chips and the other with dried cranberries. I have tried many recipes on this site and I am happy to say that this is the first time I have written a review because it's the first time I have felt compelled to do so! :) I imagine the negative reviews are simply from a matter of taste. These are delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaryan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
A bit too cakey for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bonner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nowata, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I debated rating this recipe since I revised it so much but I did enjoy my cookies so I decided to share anyway. I know most banana and oat cookies are cake like which I still enjoy. However, it has been my experience the more bananas included the less likely for it to taste as well after a couple of days, so I only put in one banana. To add some additional flavor I put a couple tsps of coffee to the mashed banana (I got this idea from a muffin recipe that had turned out well) and let it sit for 10 minutes before commencing with the rest of the recipe. For the spices I did 1/4 tsp cloves, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I didn't think chocolate chips sounded very good with those spices so I did as another suggested and added dried cranberries and dried blueberries (technically mine were cranberries that were "blueberry juice infused" by ocean spray). To cut some additional calories I cut down on the margarine to 3/4 cup and the sugar to 3/4 cup as well as changing to 1/2 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup regular sugar. On top of all these changes I also tested out the quantity of the oats. I did the batch with 1 cup then split the batch in half and added 1/2 cup oats to one batch and left the other half as is with 1 cup's worth of oats. I thought both batches turned out well to me the additional oats made the cookies slightly more cake like but my hubby said the opposite. As I enjoyed the one with less oats more but my husband with more oats I will make again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I substituted ingredients to make these cookies gluten free, vegan and naturally sweetened. They took about about 15-20 minutes to bake. Here is the recipe I used: • 1/4 cup brown rice syrup • 1/2 cup vegan butter • 1 cup applesauce • 2 eggs substitute • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract • 2 cups gluten free all-purpose flour • 1 teaspoon baking soda • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon • 2 ripe bananas, mashed • 2 cups “Quick Cooking” Irish oatmeal • 1 cup blueberries (or raisins) • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This tasted more like a holiday cookie. It was good, but would ahe been better without the cloves. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Thank for these was realy good all the family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chantal
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Calling these cookies is a bit of stretch i would call them banana bread cookies or mini banana breads... non the less they were awesome, i used butter instead of margarine took out the cloves and added a 1/2 tsp of salt. Getting them off the sheets was a bit of a problem because they were so soft but just let them cool a min or two. I also had just regular banana not ripe. Cooked for 10 min on 375 and they were absolutely delicious. I was able to yield more than 24 with this recipe and had to make another batch cuz my buds tore thru them. If u want a soft gooey banana bread cookie these are the bee's knees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pistonhammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I LOVE these cookies, and so does my 4 1/2 year old son, who dislikes bananas unless they're baked in something...I used 1/2 the butter, and half applesauce. I also left out the chocolate chips, and I used white whole wheat flour. The cookies are fluffy, almost muffin-like, but they were so easy to make, with less cleanup than muffins! Thanks, I will certainly bake these next time I have bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilykay22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
My husband loves banana bread, and I got tired of making the same old thing with ripe bananas, so I decided to try this recipe. I added about 1/2 cup extra oats because the first batch came out like pancakes. The extra oats did the trick and they puffed up like good oatmeal cookies should. We also live at 8,200 ft so that may be why they didn't puff the way they should have. I'll make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States