Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I generally try to avoid altering a recipe before the first time I try it, but I didn't have enough margarine. So I used olive oil for the remaining half. The result: I didn't have any of that "cakiness" problem as described in some of the other reviews. However, the dough didn't spread out in the oven as well as I liked. After spreading it out a bit in subsequent batches, everything was right as day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
**Just to add to this....This is my kids' favorite cookie recipe! I freeze cookie balls and then pop a few in the oven when they get home from school. They LOVE it! It combines three things my family loves. Oats, bananas and chocolate! One of the most requested cookies in our house! So cakey and yummy!!!! I only decreased the amount of cloves to abouut 1/2 tsp, only because it was a little strong for our taste. Otherwise, I follow recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The cookies are a little rubbery. Also they should either spread more or rise more. Its just stuck in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Serna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Really yummy. on teh chewy side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I just made this today....It is so good! Can't wait for the kids to get home so they can try them! The only thing I did different was use just 2 bananas for that was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DQISAQT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These are REALLY yummy! They're like a piece of banana bread with a bit more substance because of the oatmeal. I made a few switches, though. I used brown sugar instead of white, butter instead of margarine, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of cloves, and milk chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet. I think these could definitely be made into a healthier version. I'll try a whole-wheat version next time...maybe throw in some flax-seeds, too. This recipes is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
These are very good! After reading the reviews, I was worried that they would be too cake-like, so I added a small box of instant vanilla pudding to the flour mixture. I also considered the comments about too much clove flavor so I used 1/2 tsp of allspice instead of the 1 tsp cloves. Everyone in my family loves nuts, so I added a cup of finley chopped walnuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Thanks so much. I love banana bread but was getting a little tired of it. I also love that I have another recipe for cookies. I prefer to make cookies for my kids so that I know what's going into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Reminded our girls night of muffies! It was the perfect treat paired with a frothing chai, nados, and Say Yes to the Dress! Very enjoyable cookies and easy to make (when you have four people)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Not too bad! I made some modifications similar to another user - used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also used about half a tsp of nutmeg instead of cloves simply because I don't have any cloves. I thought they were a bit floury tasting and might try using 3 cups oats and 1 cup flour. I'm not sure if that will work or not. I will also add the bananas last next time so that I have some banana pieces instead of just the flavor. These are not your traditional cookie, but that should be apparent. I thought they were good and even my picky 16 year old daughter liked them. I have dough in the fridge for the weekend and I bet they'll taste even better after the flavors have blended more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States