Banana Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Everyone loved them. I thought it was good. Will make them again, especially for Chloe, but it is more of a cake-y cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These cookies are very good. I made the following changes which I think give them a 5 star rating. I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, I added a tsp of vanilla extract, I did not have any eggs on hand so I substituted 2 tbsp of Hellman's mayo, omitted nutmeg and put in only 1/2 tsp cinnamon and added 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips. Also I baked them at 350 for 15 mins and they came out perfectly golden. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made these as birthday treats and they got rave reviews from my friends after a run! In fact, I had planned to take them to work the next day, but there weren't enough left! Also, I did add some chocolate chips and used 1/2 C peanut butter and 1/4 C butter to replace the shortening! I didn't think the PB came through very much and would try making it with 3/4 C PB in the future if I wanted that flavor noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Great recipe! It was like eating a slice of banana bread; cakey and moist on the inside, and adding a crunchy oatmeal layer around it. Truly wonderful. Next time however, I will reduce temperature to 350F. At 400F as written in the recipe, I had too much browning at the bottom before the tops were set enough. Storing in an airtight container made the cookie soft through out (although I put them in after cooling compeletely). But that's how the kids like their oatmeal cookies anyway:)) winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
this recipe is very similar to my mom's. I couldnt get a hold of her this evening and I needed to get a huge bag of over ripe bananas out of my freezer so I used this recipe. I doubled the recipe (I still have bananas left) but the only 2 things I did differently was left out the nuts (I like the nuts but my 5 year old doesn't in cookies for some reason) and I substituted 1 cup of shortening with 1/2 cup of applesauce (what my mom always did) and they turned out wonderful, almost as good as my mom used to make them!!! thanks all recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great idea to use up bananas! Just a little bland so definitely add that swirl of frosting to jazz them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
These were very tasty! I used a bigger cookie scoop (probably a little over 1 tablespoon per cookie) and they only took about 10-12 minutes to bake, so watch them carefully. My first tray was a little over done. I made some browned butter frosting to go on top of the cookies which was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
these are great. Love the oatmeal in it. I used old-fashioned oats and it worked fine. They are not super sweet...tempted to add chocolate chips or a drizzled glaze or chocolate. But, first I'll see how the kids like them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe and I liked the fact that the cookie didn't spread out too much. Like eating a piece of banana nut bread. I added chocolate chips to half of the batter for variety. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan LTaylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great recipe and easy to make healthier with delicious results! My substitutions were as follows: **flour = whole wheat flour **3/4 c shortening = 1/2 c applesauce & 1/4 c olive oil **1 c sugar = 1/2 c white sugar & 1/2 c brown sugar **quick oats = regular oats (more noticeable in cookie because they are less processed and bigger) **decrease salt to 1/2 tsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States