Banana Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I'd rate it higher but I made some changes that I think made these especially good. I know how people hate when others tweak recipes but I just couldn't bring myself to use the shortening. Instead, I subbed 1/2 c. peanut butter and 1/4 c. butter. Rather than using 1 c. of white sugar, I used 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. white sugar. I also added 3/4 c. chocolate chips and omitted the nuts. These were amazing! It's a cookie that is somewhat healthier than the standard chocolate chip but is just as delicious! Next time I may try using agave nectar instead of sugar to make it even healthier. Thanks for providing a yummy alternative to a regular oatmeal raisin cookie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
super dry and bland cookie. After reading many of the reviews, it would appear most people agree, WHERE'S the vanilla????? I am going to try it again, more banana, vanilla and maybe some brown suger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This recipe must be pretty fool-proof...I forgot the salt (realized it after the first batch cooked!), was 1/2 C short of oatmeal, and had my 4 year old helping me and they still turned out good. They are more cake-like than I expected. I added a touch of vanilla and took the advice to use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I added choco chips to 1/2 the batter and raisins to the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
WOW! These are excellent cookies. I made two batches. The first followed the recipe almost exactly (used old-fashioned instead of quick oats) and had to force myself from finishing the entire batch. For the second batch I used half white and half brown sugar and replaced the nuts with chocolate chips. YUM!!!!! Thanks for a great recipe! Hmmmm, can't wait to try with cinnamon chips . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Yummy! Little banana bread bites! Did 1/2 and 1/2 brown and white sugar and used butter instead of shortening to "keep it real." Baked for exactly 10 minutes. Very moist and soft. I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These were apparently a hit at school with my son's kindergarten class. The teachers requested less sugary snacks and there is a chocolate allergy (sad!), so these were great. I doubled the recipe and used many of the recommendations in the reviews including 1/2 ww flour, more cinnamon, butter instead of shortening, etc. I accidentally omitted an egg in the doubling process, but didn't really miss it. I used chopped dried cherries and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Pretty decent cookie..although very cake-like in texture. Changes I made are as follows: Used 1 cup flour and 1/2 cup WW flour. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. 1/2 cup butter with 1/4 cup applesauce to replace the shortening. 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 full cup. 2/3 cup of raisins and no nuts. Baked at 350 for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Just like muffin tops-not really a "cookie". I did add a bit more banana -very glad I did-otherwise would not have enough banana flavor. These are not TOO SWEET-which is kind of nice. Overall--A nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love these cookies! They are more like muffin type cookies and are so soft and chewy. My kids absolutely loved them. They also FREEZE really well. I bake a ton of them when I have ripened bananas and freeze them in a Tupperware, take them out and pop them in the microwave for a few seconds and they are sooo good! I have used swirled choco chips and they are good also. I also used 1/2 cup butter (no shortening on hand) and 13 minutes was my sweet spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So DELICIOUS! good batter too! Just made these in my community kitchen in my dorm and the ingredients were inexpensive and they turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelsue922

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States