Banana Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I honestly dont know how to bake without changing a recipe to suit either what I have or what is needed. I doubled the recipe, used 1 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter, instead of shortening; added 2 tsp vanilla; and added a bag of butterscotch chips... baked 15 minutes on a cookie sheet lightly coated with butter flavored cooking spray..... my husband and children have once again deemed me a goddess :D even after making them clean up the baking mess :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These cookies are fanatastic. They stay moist and wonderful after baking. My husband loves the taste. I have made with or without nuts. I tend to like the texture the nuts give the cookies. This is a great way to use up ripe bananas besides making a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colbert, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
In place of shortening, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. I increased the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon and omitted the nuts. I baked the cookies for 10 minutes at 350 degrees and they came out perfect. These cookies were similar to muffin tops--very light and moist. I am wondering what would make them taste more like cookies and less like muffins. Next time I will probably use a tad bit less flour and all butter instead of the butter/applesauce combo to see if this makes them more cookie-like. Overall, very delicious. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I substituted 1/2 cup chocolate chips for the nuts and added a teaspoon vanilla. Instead of using 3/4 cup shortening I used just 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce to make these healthier and they still turned out GREAT. My boyfriend had one when he got home from work and said it was like a muffin top and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very yummy!!! Did half brown sugar and half white. Also added chocolate chips and pecans. Mine only needed 10 min in my oven. The kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
made these with my 4 and 2 year old sons added raisins and almonds. Delicious. So soft and yummy. Just like your own individual banana bread. Will never make regular banana bread again this is my new go to recipe! oh and I only used 2/3a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
amazing!! I use butter instead of shortening, because I never have any! I also add chocolate chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I used whole wheat flour instead (I do this for all recipes) Didn't have any shortening, so, used butter. These cookies turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good recipe! I added peanut butter for some added flavor and they turned out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENPEN006

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made these using whole wheat flour and no nuts. They are amazing! my 2 year old loves them! They do come out very cake like or like muffin tops but I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettjulie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States