Banana Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made these twice so far. The first time I omitted the nuts, added a bit more cinnamon, they turned out great, they stay soft forever. The second time I added dried cranberries and everyone at work loved them! I keep a sheet of foil a rack below the cookies so they don't burn on the bottom, as they have a longer cook time (15 mins was perfect). I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
We all loved these! I used ww flour. Instead of white sugar, I used a 1/2 cup of succanant with honey and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Also used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the shortening. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
excellent - had the ripest bananas ever and needed something to make quick... substituted half of the white sugar with brown sugar...added one tsp of vanilla, added lots of fresh blueberries! They were awesome - baked at 375 degrees for 16 minutes on baking stones = they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
These are fantastic. I used to beg my grandma to make these same exact cookies when I was little. We always made them with chocolate chips. On an interesting note, my grandmother told me that she found this recipe in the newspaper during WWII. It was a good recipe to send to the troops because it shipped well and did not use rationed goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
The only thing I added was a little bit of cinnamon, and these were wonderful! They didn't last 24 hours! I was surprised at the negative reviews. I have found that when you cream the shortening and sugar, it makes a huge difference in the texture if you don't mix it well enough. Other than that, I don't know why anyone who likes banana bread wouldn't love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
These cookies are amazing!!!! I divided the dough into 3 parts and baked one part just as the recipe states, added walnuts to one part, and mini chocolate chips to the other part. I baked mine for only 10 minutes and they do not need a minute more!! YUMMY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
KEEPER! The kids thought that these were great. I (as always) made them egg free for my egg allergic 16 mo. old, (by adding an extra banana mashed w/ baking powder). There was no notice of the oatmeal, which made them even better. I also added chocolate chips, for a nice but sweet after school snack. Thanks Pam ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
These are really good. I have made them many times with great success! They stay into a nice plump, muffin/cake type of consistency cookie. It's very moist and has the right amount of banana flavor. It's a great & different way to bake with banana. I needed to bake them for only 10 min.(At the stated Temp of 400) It's a kid pleaser! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Fantabulous! These taste just like little Banana Bread bites. They are hearty, but not heavy--everyone was surprised when I told them there were oats in it. This recipe is on the top of my list for overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I'd rate it higher but I made some changes that I think made these especially good. I know how people hate when others tweak recipes but I just couldn't bring myself to use the shortening. Instead, I subbed 1/2 c. peanut butter and 1/4 c. butter. Rather than using 1 c. of white sugar, I used 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. white sugar. I also added 3/4 c. chocolate chips and omitted the nuts. These were amazing! It's a cookie that is somewhat healthier than the standard chocolate chip but is just as delicious! Next time I may try using agave nectar instead of sugar to make it even healthier. Thanks for providing a yummy alternative to a regular oatmeal raisin cookie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States