Banana Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by tsd1355
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Light, fluffy, and delicious! I increased the cinnamon to a full tsp. and also added about 1/2 cup of cinnamon chips. When they cooled, I drizzled the tops with melted vanilla candy coating wafers. The texture is so light and airy that you want to just keep eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I personally didn't care much for this cookie, and it didn't get as much attention from my coworkers as other cookies I made. It came out somewhat dry and lacked the sweetness I prefer in my cookies. That being said, it is definitely a cookie that tastes better on the second day, once the banana has really settled into the oatmeal. I'm a cookie fanatic, but I don't think I'll keep this on my "must-make-again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This recipe WOULD be a 5 star, however; DO NOT bake at 400F! Mine were burnt to a crisp and the oven was smoking after about 10 mins! I tried a second batch at 350F for about 13 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent! Light, airy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I honestly dont know how to bake without changing a recipe to suit either what I have or what is needed. I doubled the recipe, used 1 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter, instead of shortening; added 2 tsp vanilla; and added a bag of butterscotch chips... baked 15 minutes on a cookie sheet lightly coated with butter flavored cooking spray..... my husband and children have once again deemed me a goddess :D even after making them clean up the baking mess :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These cookies are fanatastic. They stay moist and wonderful after baking. My husband loves the taste. I have made with or without nuts. I tend to like the texture the nuts give the cookies. This is a great way to use up ripe bananas besides making a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colbert, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
In place of shortening, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. I increased the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon and omitted the nuts. I baked the cookies for 10 minutes at 350 degrees and they came out perfect. These cookies were similar to muffin tops--very light and moist. I am wondering what would make them taste more like cookies and less like muffins. Next time I will probably use a tad bit less flour and all butter instead of the butter/applesauce combo to see if this makes them more cookie-like. Overall, very delicious. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I substituted 1/2 cup chocolate chips for the nuts and added a teaspoon vanilla. Instead of using 3/4 cup shortening I used just 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce to make these healthier and they still turned out GREAT. My boyfriend had one when he got home from work and said it was like a muffin top and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very yummy!!! Did half brown sugar and half white. Also added chocolate chips and pecans. Mine only needed 10 min in my oven. The kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
made these with my 4 and 2 year old sons added raisins and almonds. Delicious. So soft and yummy. Just like your own individual banana bread. Will never make regular banana bread again this is my new go to recipe! oh and I only used 2/3a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States