Banana Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Just okay, kind of like little bite size peices of banana bread. Cooking temp is too high, I went with 350 instead so the outside doesn't get too hard. Also used 1/2c butter instead of shortening. Overall easy to make and decent. Good if you have some extra ripe bananas lying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These were fantastic!!! I also would not call them "cookies" but maybe muffin tops is more accurate. I made a few changes that made them taste even better. I used half margarine and half peanut butter instead of shortening. I used whole wheat flour and added about 1/4 of a cup of vanilla soymilk to compensate for the whole wheat. Finally, I used 3/4 of a cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar. They were moist, not crumbly, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very good! I cut way back on the sugar because the bananas are sweet enough. "Cookie" is a little decieving because they are more cake-like. As someone mentioned earlier, they're like muffin tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I would call these "Banana Bites" instead of "Banana Oatmeal Cookies". Mine cooked fine in 12-13 minutes without burning. I subbed flax for the nuts and used 1/2 cup butter + 1/4 applesauce in place of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
awesome cookies... Didn't have any nuts so I added raisin and a some vanilla... Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The overall taste was good, but the consistency and texture did not feel like we were eating cookies. I follwed the recipe exactly and ended up with cookies that were more like muffin tops. Still tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Tasty and a nice alternative to muffins and bread. You can cut down on the sugar because the banana makes it plenty sweet. I used 1/2 brown sugar. To make them more decadent, try adding 1/3 coconut and 1/3 chocolate chips (put in less oatmeal and less nuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
amazing! They disappeared so quickly, but were easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
OK flavor, too cakey for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I didn't think they had much flavour, were pretty bland as is. Also, personal taste, I don't like a soft cookie and that's what these are. I was just desperate for a banana recipe that wasn't bread, so I made them. They did not travel well, as stated, but were crumbly, soft and fell apart. Not a great cookie to eat while you're driving! But outside of personal taste, I still can't give them more than 3 stars without playing with the recipe. Back to the drawing board.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States