Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I am always a sucker for breads and cakes made with oats so when I had a few overripe bananas hanging about I jumped at this recipe! This banana bread was moist, tasty, and a total hit with my whole family. I noticed our fruit bowl has a few "past prime" bananas today and I immediately started pulling out the ingredients for this bread. I can't wait for my tea and bread tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Prouty-Muller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
excellent taste and texture added 1 tsp BP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Made this with my daughter last night with some leftover frozen bananas. It's the best banana oatmeal bread I've had! We'll be making this again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Super delicious. I used coconut oil and coconut milk and half the sugar. I added both raisins and walnuts. Love, love the addition of whole oats. Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Used coconut oil instead of shortening, came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Schackmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRISTINH472
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I have made many banana bread recipes over the years. This is my new favorite! Everyone loved it, old and young. I was a bit short on bananas so added 1/2 cup applesauce. It was even better the next day! I added cinnamon chips instead of raisins, but they were overpowered by banana and unnecessary. I might try the raisins next time. Try this if you get a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Thank you Carolyn for sharing your family recipe, my husband stated this was the best Banana Oatmeal Bread! I did not have applesauce, so I used 1/2 C. Apple Butter and 1/2 C. butter in place of the shortening, Almond Milk in place of regular Milk, Egg Beaters, 3/4 C. Sugar, 4 small bananas was just over 1 1/2 C. bananas, 1 tsp. Cinnamon, 1/2 C. chopped walnuts, and sprinkled sugar on top before baking. I sprayed my loaf pan, and then placed a piece of parchment paper on the bottom of the loaf pan, sprayed the parchment and sprinkled that with a dusting of flour. Baked for 65 minutes, tented at 45 minutes. We tasted a slice of the bread while still warm, and I thought it might have been under cooked as a little mushy in the middle, even though the knife came out clean when tested. I let it cool completely and it is now "set" and very moist. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Tutu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
For Gluten free bakers, I substituted all purpose gluten free flour...worked great ! I also subbed coconut oil for shortening.....yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe almost to a T, except I cut the sugar in half. They were delicious. I've tried lots of banana bread recipes, and this one is the best! I baked as muffins, also, and they turned out equally good. It's flexible, too, you can add in coconut or nuts, but even without it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is a very versatile recipe. While I know that not everyone appreciates reviews of recipes when changes are made, I felt I should let everyone know that this one is a good base. After promising my kids that we'd make muffins, I realized we were short on ingredients. I scrapped the original recipe, found this, made some substitutions and it worked great! We made half a batch and got 24 mini-muffins (took about 12 minutes to bake). We used softened butter for the shortening, brown sugar for the white sugar, no vanilla (I was out), no milk (how'd I miss that?!), pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon (heaping), pumpkin for the banana, and chopped apple for the raisins (about double the amount - I'm sure this moisture made up for the missing milk). So we ended up with Autumn Muffins (per my 7 year old) and they are very good. I can't wait to try the recipe the way the original chef intended it...then again, it's fun to experiment too :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States