Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
this has to be the most amazing banana bread i have ever made. i didnt change a thing. you will not be sorry making this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmorrissey04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherrills Ford, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My family is not a big fan of banana bread but this was so moist and tasty, it was gone in a matter of hours. As some reviews suggested, I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup coconut oil for the shortening and coconut milk for the milk because I had it and it made it a little healthier. I also baked it in a bunt pan and sprinkled a few sliced almonds on top for looks. I cut the baking time by about 10minutes so just keep an eye on it. Thank you for this recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
WELL... I changed things but this was a good starting place. I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup softened butter, old fashion oats (because that's all I had), a little extra vanilla, and half brown sugar and half white sugar. everything else was the same and it turned out moist and yummy. It seemed thin when I put it in the pan but cooked well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I used 1/2 cup apple sauce in place of shortening. I also used 1/2c whole wheat flour and 1/2c white flour. I had to bake it for about an hour and twenty minutes... maybe my oven is slow... Worth the wait though!!! So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Surprising bread -- very easy, moist with a super tasty crust. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe. Used brown sugar, applesauce and butter, old fashioned oats and it turned out a success. Made into muffins with a bake time of 20mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Best banana bread ever. Wouldnt change a thing, its moist and yummy especially with coffee. My mother and my kids cant get enough of it. Thanks Carolyn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This bread turned out good -- even with my modifications: 1 cup whole wheat flour + one cup oatmeal, Organic liquid egg sub in stead of whole eggs, applesauce instead of oil, and Stevia instead of sugar. Usually I get something inedible, but with this recipe it turned out great! I will definitely make it again and maybe use 1/2 sugar, 1/2 Stevia. Now I won't feel guilty having it with my morning coffee -- a low fat, low sugar, high fiber treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
i trully enjoyed this bread..my family loved it, thank you for sharing this recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Filling and comforting! We cannot get a loaf of this bread to last 2 days in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States