Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This recipe is very simple and tasty. The loaves are not too sweet. I added 1 cup pecans instead of 1/2 cup raisins (I like nuts), and 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup shortenning. Turned out great. Looks nice if you sprinkle the loaf with some oatmeal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Just made this and it is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Used walnuts instead of raisins and doubled the recipe. My Mom and I didn't even let a speck of batter go to waste. The bread is done now, warm, and delicious. It's a little crumbly and I'll be greasing the pan better next time, but the 8 strap pan size loaves will probably be gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Excellent tasting loaf! I love the texture of the oatmeal and the feeling that it`s healthy to eat! I use 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the shortening and I use Splenda in place of the sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Awesome! Used butter instead of shortening, chocolate chunks and cut the sugar with splenda, half and half. Didn't save all that many calories in the end, but didn't hurt the flavour any! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Stop looking, this is THE BEST banana bread. So moist, so flavorful. *I used coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Strange texture and no taste. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Excellent! I used half quick and half regular oats. Next time I will not use quick at all, I like the texture of regular oats best. I added mini chocolate chips. Really good flavor and texture!! It makes a large loaf and I probably over cooked it just a bit to make sure the center was done. I will cut the cooking time next time by a few minutes for sure next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
So good! I made them into muffins because I didn't want to wait an hour to cook. I made 24 from the amount in the recipe, filled about 1/2 way. I baked them at 350 x 19 minutes. I did sub the shortening for 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I also added about 1/4 - 1/2 cup more flour. I used 3 mashed bananas. They tasted great, good texture, and they were very moist. I had been looking for a recipe to use overripe bananas and this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was a great bread! I used splenda and I added a cup of sugar free chocolate chips in place of the nuts and raisins. This bread is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not bad. It was kinda greasy, a little bland, kinda flat. I think with some small tweaks, this recipe will turn out to be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States