Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've used a few different recipes for banana bread recently and this one is my favorite. Even my nightmare apartment oven managed to produce a tasty loaf of moist, golden-brown bread. I followed the recipe exactly and my only gripe is that it was a little sweeter than I like banana bread to be, so I'll cut back the sugar by a quarter cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I added 3/4 C Chopped Walnuts, and 3/4 Chocolate Chips. Very moist and I love the texture the oatmeal and walnuts give it. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I added flax and walnuts at the end. I also made them into muffins and baked them for 30 minutes at 350. I will definitely be using this as my go to banana bread recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Followed the recipe. Yummy! I added 1/2 cup chopped walnut instead of raisins. I also used old fashioned oats, instead of quick cooking. Cooked for 57 minutes and it may have been a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this using some healthy modifications- used maybe 2/3 or 3/4 cup of sugar, 3/5 BIG bananas, and whole wheat flour. I also used butter because I don't have shortening. And I added chocolate chips, because chocolate is good for the soul. I also used flaxseed substiute (1 T ground + 3 T water = 1 egg) for the egg. And like others have said, my bread didn't rise very well- it rose a little and fell. Tastes delicious still. However, I was wondering if the recipe ought to call for baking powder instead of soda..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This has a wonderful taste and texture. I did add a rounded 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, subbed dried cranberries for the raisins (I didn't have raisins), used butter instead of shortening, and added a handful of pecans. Next time, I'll try adding some wheat germ and bran and reducing the shortening and sugar, possibly adding some applesauce instead. A great breakfast bread spread with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Came out alright - just didn't care for it. Think it was just personal taste with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Sub'd butter for the shortening since that's what I had. Made (29 lg) mini muffins. The flavor and texture are wonderful! But the domes leave much to be desired. In the next batch, I'll reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I'm not usually a huge fan of banana bread, but I just made this using nuts instead of raisins, and it is really good! Very moist with a lot of texture and flavor. Can't wait to see how my husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made this into muffins, baked at 350 for 15-17 min and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States