Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
As I refuse to use shortening or lard, I substituted butter. Made this in a muffin tin as I needed it to be portable. I also added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and peanut butter chips. If you are worried about it being dry, you can add more banana and a touch more milk. These turned out very moist - reeses peanut butter cups meet bananas - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
AMAZING! Loved this recipe! I changed 1/2 t. cinnamon to 1/4 t. cinnamon and 1/4 t. nutmeg. I didn't have a full 1 1/2 c. banana so just added about 1 T. more milk. Old fashioned rolled oats worked just fine. I also added 1/3 c. sliced almonds with the chopped raisins. I knew there was more batter than a loaf pan so used a greased 8x8 pan and adjusted the cook time to 43 minutes. It came out perfectly. I love love love this banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I scaled this recipe to 27 servings as I had 10 bananas to use up. I used 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 5 eggs, 1 tbsp vanilla, 2 3/4 cups Robin Hood whole wheat and flax flour, 2 3/4 cups rolled oats, 3 tsps baking powder, 3/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 10 bananas and a heaping cup of mini chocolate chips. I omitted the salt and milk as it was not needed. This recipe has 2 main flaws, not enough flour and rolled oats and not enough leavening, the formula for leavening is 1 tsp of baking powder to 1 cup flour and 1/4 tsp baking soda to 1 cup of flour. I made muffins out of the recipe, my #50 scoop yielded 29 muffins that baked in 23 minutes, they were nicely domed and very tasty and healthy! Good recipe that just needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
trying this recipe today also substituting raisins with chocolate chips smells delicious can't wait to taste. rating 4 on smell alone for now...lol. okay so i ate it and it is delicious changing to a 5 star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticake507

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodPlease!
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Just tried this out in order to get rid of some old bananas and this is pretty good! I used 3 bananas and followed the recipe, but used a little less sugar (around 3/4 cups)and added walnuts. This was still a bit too sweet for my taste, but it's not bad. I love the crispiness of the top and edges the best, and it's very moist inside! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodPlease!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Yummy! We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Yummy!! What I really liked was the hearty oatmeal. I did make some additions, I chopped 2 apples and doubled the cinnamon and vanilla, this was gone in my house. Just delicious. I set some cream chesse out, it was evil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've used a few different recipes for banana bread recently and this one is my favorite. Even my nightmare apartment oven managed to produce a tasty loaf of moist, golden-brown bread. I followed the recipe exactly and my only gripe is that it was a little sweeter than I like banana bread to be, so I'll cut back the sugar by a quarter cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I added 3/4 C Chopped Walnuts, and 3/4 Chocolate Chips. Very moist and I love the texture the oatmeal and walnuts give it. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States