Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by InTheDesert
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
5 Stars. A wonderful, tasty bread. Used 1/2 Cup applesauce and 1/2 Cup butter in place of shortening, used 3 bananas for a moist bread, no raisins. The crust came out really well! Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InTheDesert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I have made MANY banana breads, but this one is by far the BEST one EVER. It is so very moist, and delicious. The oats give it such a wonderful texture! It is a wonderful bread to have with tea, or coffee. My hubby LOVED it! It was a hit over here in my house!! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I call this recipe 'BOB' (: Great bread, have made several times! I really like the addition of oatmeal to the traditional BB...However, I sub 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 butter to make it a bit healthier instead of the shortening. Turned out very nice! Thank you! Note: only use 2 small bananas in this in the posted pic. Only added a 'splash' of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Light, moist and flavorful. I used 1/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c butter in place of the shortening, and reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. I also used old fashioned oats in place of the quick rolled oats, and soaked them in the milk and applesauce while assembling the other ingredients (adding the oat mix with the whole raisins). Finally, I added a pinch of ground cloves and a tablespoon of ground flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I've made about 15 loaves of banana bread for a bake sale today and this recipe was the big winner!! I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter for the shortening, a full teaspoon of vanilla, and a 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. It produces a very dense, chewy loaf of bread. If you're want for light and fluffy keep looking, but this bread tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this into muffins this morning. Baked them for about 18 minutes. They turned out great! I have rated this recipe before and really liked it. My daughters & I love to bake. We have been searching for the PERFECT banana oatmeal muffin recipe. We have decided this is it! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used the recipe to make muffins, doubled the amount of banana and it was delcious! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is by far the best banana bread I have put in my mouth. My brother and best friend beg me to make this all of the time. I wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIFFNER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This is a very good bread. The oatmeal really makes a difference. It's not very sweet, but it is very moist and good. I just made it yesterday it's almost completely gone. Thanks for sharing, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
We really didn't find this bread too impressive, which suprised me. I followed the instructions to a T, only substituting currants for the raisins. The bread didn't rise at all, and ended up really dark. It was moist, and the taste was ok, but the texture was really strange. Maybe that is just my own pre-concieved idea about what a quick-bread texture is supposed to be like though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States