Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this recipe two weekends in a row. The first time I used margarine in the recipe. The second time I used butter in the recipe. The margarine made a far superior bread. Better consistancy and better flavor. The butter recipe was very crumbly and the margarine was very moist, but cut firmly. I always add extra bananas to my banana breads as I did with this one. I will definately continue to make this bread ~ using margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this recipe yields a really great moist banana bread. the oatmeal does give it a special something extra. i used butter instead of shortening and only 1/3c, with an additional 1/4c of applesauce. i also probably had at least 2c of mashed banana. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Great consistency, nice looking bread. Good flavor and moist. Bake closer to the 60 minutes than the 50. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Really good. Made exactly as stated. Twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I used butter (about 6 tbs), walnuts instead of raisins, and I ground up the oats into a flour in a blender before using them, and used whole wheat instead of all purpose flour. My bread turned out really, really delicious. I have tried many banana bread recipes but this is my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cicischwartz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winsted, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was an excellent recipe - I was looking for a banana oatmeal bread recipe that would use up the ingredients in my kitchen instead of going for my quick and easy bisquick route. This totally hit the spot. The combination of cinnamon and vanilla was completely unexpected but added to the bananas and oatmeal. The bread was also super moist. Will be making again, but doubling the recipe! Thanks, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made it with the raisins and it was excellent! I plan to try it again with dates instead of raisins, and maybe some fresh raspberries another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Light, moist and flavorful. I used 1/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c butter in place of the shortening, and reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. I also used old fashioned oats in place of the quick rolled oats, and soaked them in the milk and applesauce while assembling the other ingredients (adding the oat mix with the whole raisins). Finally, I added a pinch of ground cloves and a tablespoon of ground flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Good. Very moist and dense. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Yummy! I adjusted to fit ingredients on hand with no problems. Replaced w/ 1/4c whole wheat flour, and 1/4c brown sugar. Used half butter and half canola oil, buttermilk, 3/8c applesauce + 3/4c banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States