Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe if you like oats or a texture like nuts in your banana bread. I substituted the shortening with unsweetened applesauce except for 2 1/2 tblsp. unsalted butter, used liquid eggs for the eggs, and used only 3/4 cup sugar. I only used 2 medium bananas, did not add the salt and only some of the milk. The bread baked very well and even with a wonderful aroma and was very moist and delicious. This is a healthier recipe (minus the shortening) than some other versions. My hubby loved it saying the texture of the oats offset not having any nuts in it. I personally don't like nuts in my deserts and this is a good alternative if you don't either but next time I will decrease the amount of oats used since I think it has a little too much. Otherwise it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Best banana bread I ever made. Moist and light. I replaced shortening with butter and added mini chocolate chips. My kids can't get enough of it. I doubled the ingredients and made 2 loaves and baked about 65 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe is almost identical to the one I've made for years but I use only 1/2 cup of sugar (the bananas make it plenty sweet) and add 1 tsp. making powder, which helps it rise. And no raisins. It's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is good. I didn't feel like getting out the beater to cream shortening and butter, so I subbed canola oil. The result was a fairly wet dough, so I omitted the milk. I also subbed chocolate chips for the raisin. Topped with oats before baking which gave it a nice toasted oat flavor and slight crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I was looking for an easy Oatmeal Banana Bread recipe which this is definitely not, but the little time it takes is very much worth it. I set out all my ingred. last night. It's like a big oatmeal cookie, all crunchy on top. I love it. I made a glaze of oj, pow.sugar and butter - just a little of each (didn't want icing), and drizzled after the 5 minute covered period. It's so good, love it, definitely going to file it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Excellent1 I used plain yogurt instead of milk because I had some but otherwise, no adjustment needed..Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Delicious! I used buttermilk instead of milk and organic non-hydrogenated shortening (Spectrum). Tahoekathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Loved this. I used coconut oil instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. We didn't have rasins, so I threw in some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Johnson
Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Great bread. Used butter in place of shortening (1 cube plus 2 T), added 1/2 cup chopped pecans and golden raisins. Used 3 bananas. Baked about 25 minutes in 9x9 square cake pan. Didn't find the loaf pan and it's so moist that I thought it might have been difficult to slice as a loaf. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ward

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I used 1/2 whole wheat flour. Yummy. Yummy. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States