Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This has a wonderful taste and texture. I did add a rounded 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, subbed dried cranberries for the raisins (I didn't have raisins), used butter instead of shortening, and added a handful of pecans. Next time, I'll try adding some wheat germ and bran and reducing the shortening and sugar, possibly adding some applesauce instead. A great breakfast bread spread with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Came out alright - just didn't care for it. Think it was just personal taste with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Sub'd butter for the shortening since that's what I had. Made (29 lg) mini muffins. The flavor and texture are wonderful! But the domes leave much to be desired. In the next batch, I'll reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I'm not usually a huge fan of banana bread, but I just made this using nuts instead of raisins, and it is really good! Very moist with a lot of texture and flavor. Can't wait to see how my husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made this into muffins, baked at 350 for 15-17 min and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Only had two bananas so I added a 4oz jar of banana baby food. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Baked this and turned out great Instead of shortening I used half butter and half applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! I also added 1/2 butter, 1/2 applesauce in place of the shortening, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was great last time but we added chopped walnuts as well. Very good. Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cutegrl05
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! It came out super moist, I too substituted shorting with 1/2c applesauce and 1/2c butter. I also added 1 cup of walnuts, definitely a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutegrl05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States