Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I scaled this recipe to 27 servings as I had 10 bananas to use up. I used 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 5 eggs, 1 tbsp vanilla, 2 3/4 cups Robin Hood whole wheat and flax flour, 2 3/4 cups rolled oats, 3 tsps baking powder, 3/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 10 bananas and a heaping cup of mini chocolate chips. I omitted the salt and milk as it was not needed. This recipe has 2 main flaws, not enough flour and rolled oats and not enough leavening, the formula for leavening is 1 tsp of baking powder to 1 cup flour and 1/4 tsp baking soda to 1 cup of flour. I made muffins out of the recipe, my #50 scoop yielded 29 muffins that baked in 23 minutes, they were nicely domed and very tasty and healthy! Good recipe that just needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
trying this recipe today also substituting raisins with chocolate chips smells delicious can't wait to taste. rating 4 on smell alone for now...lol. okay so i ate it and it is delicious changing to a 5 star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticake507

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodPlease!
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Just tried this out in order to get rid of some old bananas and this is pretty good! I used 3 bananas and followed the recipe, but used a little less sugar (around 3/4 cups)and added walnuts. This was still a bit too sweet for my taste, but it's not bad. I love the crispiness of the top and edges the best, and it's very moist inside! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodPlease!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Yummy! We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Yummy!! What I really liked was the hearty oatmeal. I did make some additions, I chopped 2 apples and doubled the cinnamon and vanilla, this was gone in my house. Just delicious. I set some cream chesse out, it was evil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've used a few different recipes for banana bread recently and this one is my favorite. Even my nightmare apartment oven managed to produce a tasty loaf of moist, golden-brown bread. I followed the recipe exactly and my only gripe is that it was a little sweeter than I like banana bread to be, so I'll cut back the sugar by a quarter cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I added 3/4 C Chopped Walnuts, and 3/4 Chocolate Chips. Very moist and I love the texture the oatmeal and walnuts give it. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I added flax and walnuts at the end. I also made them into muffins and baked them for 30 minutes at 350. I will definitely be using this as my go to banana bread recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Followed the recipe. Yummy! I added 1/2 cup chopped walnut instead of raisins. I also used old fashioned oats, instead of quick cooking. Cooked for 57 minutes and it may have been a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this using some healthy modifications- used maybe 2/3 or 3/4 cup of sugar, 3/5 BIG bananas, and whole wheat flour. I also used butter because I don't have shortening. And I added chocolate chips, because chocolate is good for the soul. I also used flaxseed substiute (1 T ground + 3 T water = 1 egg) for the egg. And like others have said, my bread didn't rise very well- it rose a little and fell. Tastes delicious still. However, I was wondering if the recipe ought to call for baking powder instead of soda..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States