Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I call this recipe 'BOB' (: Great bread, have made several times! I really like the addition of oatmeal to the traditional BB...However, I sub 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 butter to make it a bit healthier instead of the shortening. Turned out very nice! Thank you! Note: only use 2 small bananas in this in the posted pic. Only added a 'splash' of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Fresh out of the oven this bread is amazing. I really enjoyed the oatmeal texture. I didn't like it as much the second day however, because it became much thicker/heavier than normal banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This was an exceptionally moist bread. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was a very simple recipe that tasted awesome. My Wife and Daughter justed loved the bread especially while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was just what I was craving - dense banana bread with a lot of flavor. I omitted the raisins and added chocolate chips - so good! This one is going in my recipe box. Thanks Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Simply scrumptious bread! My hubby and kids ate the entire loaf in one day! I'm on a low cal diet but I couldn't resist and had a bite, it was grand! This one is already in my recipe box! Thank you so much for your recipe, carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I've made about 15 loaves of banana bread for a bake sale today and this recipe was the big winner!! I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter for the shortening, a full teaspoon of vanilla, and a 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. It produces a very dense, chewy loaf of bread. If you're want for light and fluffy keep looking, but this bread tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is by far the best banana bread I have put in my mouth. My brother and best friend beg me to make this all of the time. I wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIFFNER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Very good!!! Love oats- a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
We really didn't find this bread too impressive, which suprised me. I followed the instructions to a T, only substituting currants for the raisins. The bread didn't rise at all, and ended up really dark. It was moist, and the taste was ok, but the texture was really strange. Maybe that is just my own pre-concieved idea about what a quick-bread texture is supposed to be like though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States