Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Loved this bread. Made it exactly as the recipe and it was good, but a little too sweet for me. I then made it again.Replaced the shortening with Earth Balance, used raw sugar and cut the qty in half and left out the raisins. It turned out pretty good. Nothing wrong with the original, but it is a health issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used the recipe to make muffins, doubled the amount of banana and it was delcious! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I call this recipe 'BOB' (: Great bread, have made several times! I really like the addition of oatmeal to the traditional BB...However, I sub 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 butter to make it a bit healthier instead of the shortening. Turned out very nice! Thank you! Note: only use 2 small bananas in this in the posted pic. Only added a 'splash' of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Fresh out of the oven this bread is amazing. I really enjoyed the oatmeal texture. I didn't like it as much the second day however, because it became much thicker/heavier than normal banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This was an exceptionally moist bread. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was a very simple recipe that tasted awesome. My Wife and Daughter justed loved the bread especially while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was just what I was craving - dense banana bread with a lot of flavor. I omitted the raisins and added chocolate chips - so good! This one is going in my recipe box. Thanks Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Simply scrumptious bread! My hubby and kids ate the entire loaf in one day! I'm on a low cal diet but I couldn't resist and had a bite, it was grand! This one is already in my recipe box! Thank you so much for your recipe, carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I've made about 15 loaves of banana bread for a bake sale today and this recipe was the big winner!! I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter for the shortening, a full teaspoon of vanilla, and a 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. It produces a very dense, chewy loaf of bread. If you're want for light and fluffy keep looking, but this bread tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is by far the best banana bread I have put in my mouth. My brother and best friend beg me to make this all of the time. I wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIFFNER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States