Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very tasty, I did everything just as instructed, though I did not measure the banana. I just mashed the 6 that I needed to use and added it to the bowl. Delicious and moist, a HUGE hit around here, even with my picky 3 year old. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Just pulled this out of the oven and after cooling a short bit, sliced into our first piece. YUMMY! I stuck with the reviews and used 1/2c apple sauce and 1/2c butter. I only had 2 ripe bananas on hand so that's what I used. The flavor and texture is great, but I could see adding more bananas the next time around to give it more of a banana taste. Because I only had 2 bananas I added some extra milk to keep it moist. The consistency was perfect. The bread does come out looking dark, but it didn't affect the taste at all. Definitly a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I had never made bread before this one! It was the best! I did the applesauce, butter and wheat flour subs. Thanks a million for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Excellent banana bread recipe. I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 spread as suggested in other reviews. I also used whole wheat flour. It was absolutely delicious. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Loved it. It tastes great, it uses up ripe banannas (which is wonderful since our banannas always seem to turn very quickly) and it adds a good boost of fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I have made MANY banana breads, but this one is by far the BEST one EVER. It is so very moist, and delicious. The oats give it such a wonderful texture! It is a wonderful bread to have with tea, or coffee. My hubby LOVED it! It was a hit over here in my house!! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieTheMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is a good version of the typical Banana Bread. The oatmeal makes it much more hearty and dense, but it is not dry! My loaves did not rise much, but it was still good. I took other reviewers advice and used cinnamon applesauce in place of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This recipie is T-E-R_riffic! Best of all my husband loves it, and I feel good about adding a few more oats to his diet. You can cut the sugar to about 3/4 cup and then add mini-chocolate chips. I add a whole tsp. of vanilla. Excellente'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Peacock
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
5 Stars. A wonderful, tasty bread. Used 1/2 Cup applesauce and 1/2 Cup butter in place of shortening, used 3 bananas for a moist bread, no raisins. The crust came out really well! Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Peacock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Loved this bread. Made it exactly as the recipe and it was good, but a little too sweet for me. I then made it again.Replaced the shortening with Earth Balance, used raw sugar and cut the qty in half and left out the raisins. It turned out pretty good. Nothing wrong with the original, but it is a health issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States