Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Excellent, moist banana bread made healthier with the following changes: 1/2 cup Smart Balance 50/50 butter blend instead of shortening, 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1 cup, and egg beaters instead of eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this today, making it a little healthier by using all applesauce instead of shortening and 1/2 wheat flour. I also omitted the milk because the batter didn't seem to need it. Everything else was according to the recipe. It is a phenomenal lowfat bread! The texture is hearty with the addition of the oats, and the flavor is great! I don't know how it would turn out with the shortening/fat added, but if you want a low fat treat that is tasty and filling, this sure fits the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I am not a very good cook...but I was able to make this very easily! I was a bit short on sugar, and my bananas were not quite ripe, so I simply added 2 tablespoons of honey. The bread was moist and delicious! My fiance ate the entire pan for lunch! Also, I used butter instead of shortening and it turned out just fine! Thanks for this great bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious...I made this bread into mini-muffins! I used butter instead of shortening, reduced the sugar, and added butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very Tasty! Only reason it got 4 stars is I think 350 for 50 minutes was too much, it got REAL brown, verge of being burnt. I also used butter instead of shortening. Love how the top is a nice crunchy texture and the bread remains very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is awesome banana bread! I love the texture of the bread with the oatmeal in it. I used butter instead of shortening, reduced the sugar and didn't sift the dry ingredients. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Yum! I just made these. I doubled the recipe, subbed 1/2 the shortening with butter and the other 1/2 with cinnamon apple sauce, did 1C white sugar and 1C brown and in addition to the cinnamon i added another teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, i used old fashioned oats instead of quick cook. i also baked it in heart shaped muffin pans. this would be even better with pecans or walnuts in it. Thank you for the base recipe, this came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I used butter, added a half tsp. of nutmeg and used leftover eggnog in place of the milk called for. Nice earthy tasting loaf. I don't normally think of oatmeal in banana bread, but it's good. Great way to use up my excess oatmeal, because I have a ton. (And oatmeal is always cheap, yo.) YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This bread was moist and fabulous. I used regular rolled oats instead of quick oats, and it gave the bread a wonderful, thick texture. It is a little sweet, so I may use less sugar next time. I definitely like this oaty version better than my regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I usually make 'The Best Banana Bread' recipe from this site but wanted it a little healthier this time, and this was delicious. I used butter instead of shortening but followed the rest exactly, and it was moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States