Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This banana bread is moist and tasty. I was a little put off by the oatmeal, but it didn't alter the taste or the texture. I did make a few changes. As some of the other reviewers did I used butter rather than Crisco and added the half cup of applesauce. I added nuts rather than raisins. The next time I make it I will probably add nutmeg. But it really is a good recipe. I will use this recipe from now on instead of my old banana bread recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
After reading some of the reviews...I made a lot of changes. I used the 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 a cup of butter in place of the shortening. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a dash of ground cloves; then doubled the bananas/vanilla and forgot the milk. I divided the batter 4 ways and added different things to each: raisins,crushed nuts,blueberries,and strawberries. (The mini batches that contained the strawberries and blueberries didn't rise as well as the others.) While all the muffins tasted good I liked the ones with the crushed nuts the best. I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because I love how much room it leaves for changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This seemed to taste way sweeter to me than typical banana bread, too sweet for my tastes (and I rarely complain on that issue). Maybe it really depends on your bananas. I would not sugggest doing what I did, which was to use "old fashioned" oats rather than the specified "quick" oats. The old fashioned oats did not blend into the batter to contribute to the structure of the bread, instead it was more like individual bits of chewy oats, which were interesting but made the bread texture less than it could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and my family loved it. I was nervous that it was going to burn when I checked it part way through but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mphelps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Perfect recipe! I threw in chopped walnuts instead of the raisins. Everyone loved it. Super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is my fav banana bread recipe now. I made a few modifications: Used 1/2 brown sugar; 1/2 white sugar Used 100% white whole wheat flour (King Arthur) Added a handful of ground flax seed (1/4 cup) Doubled vanilla & cinnamon Didn't chop raisins. I found that I needed to watch the time and test more carefully. The dense texture made this test done, but it was still raw in the middle. I had put it on a rack to cool and the middle fell out. I scooped it up and re-baked it 10 min. Amazingly, it turned out great and tasted like a cookie. My 5 year old boys love this stuff. It tastes even moister after a day or 2. It is a dark loaf and dense (not fluffy). The crust is yummy. The oatmeal adds a nice rustic texture. High 5s and thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I LOVE this bread! It tastes like a traditional banana bread but the texture is what makes it stand out! Very moist and hearty! I used 3 large bananas (I like a definite banana flavor), substituted 1/2 unsalted butter and 1/2 plain applesauce for the shortening (didn't have shortening on hand) and added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1/2 tsp. Left the rest the same and cooked for 55 min. The edges of the bread did start to get dark around 40 min. so I covered with foil for the rest of the time. Next time I may nor cover because I like a little crust. This is AWESOME bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Excellent, moist banana bread made healthier with the following changes: 1/2 cup Smart Balance 50/50 butter blend instead of shortening, 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1 cup, and egg beaters instead of eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this today, making it a little healthier by using all applesauce instead of shortening and 1/2 wheat flour. I also omitted the milk because the batter didn't seem to need it. Everything else was according to the recipe. It is a phenomenal lowfat bread! The texture is hearty with the addition of the oats, and the flavor is great! I don't know how it would turn out with the shortening/fat added, but if you want a low fat treat that is tasty and filling, this sure fits the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I am not a very good cook...but I was able to make this very easily! I was a bit short on sugar, and my bananas were not quite ripe, so I simply added 2 tablespoons of honey. The bread was moist and delicious! My fiance ate the entire pan for lunch! Also, I used butter instead of shortening and it turned out just fine! Thanks for this great bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States