Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Delicious! I substituted 1/2 of the flour with whole wheat flour and added 1/4 cup flax seed to the batter at the end. Very moist, dense bread in a good way. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Stef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is the best banana bread I've ever made. I used sweet-cream butter for the shortening, half cup brown sugar and half cup of white, 1 cup whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour, added extra half teaspoon cinnamon, and added 1 tablespoon dark rum. I also didn't use the quick oats, I used Old Fashioned Quaker oats instead. They gave the bread slight texture and it was still very moist. I've already made this recipe 2x in 2 weeks. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
So good!!! Great texture. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
really tasty and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Great easy recipe, I do not like shortening so replaced with 1/4 cup Apple Sauce and 1/4 cup of Butter. I did use the raisins which I had presoaked in Brandy, added an additional 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I used French Vanilla coffee creamer instead of milk and it was delicious. I also followed the other comments of subbing out the shortening for applesauce and butter. The whole thing turned out well. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I know this had great reviews, but I honestly didn't care for the bread with the oatmeal in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Made it with Splenda (24 packets = 1 cup sugar) and it came out great. And oatmeal always makes me happy. V. moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Calvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very moist and tasty- my 1 year old loves it for any meal! Definitely make it more healthy by substituting a combination of applesauce and vegetable oil for the shortening- 1/4 of each. 3 bananas seemed just right. I might try it with chocolate chips next time too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great flavor, and very moist. I used 3/4 cup white sugar, and 1/4 cup brown, the slight maple flavor goes great with the cinnamon and oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States