Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is a very versatile recipe. While I know that not everyone appreciates reviews of recipes when changes are made, I felt I should let everyone know that this one is a good base. After promising my kids that we'd make muffins, I realized we were short on ingredients. I scrapped the original recipe, found this, made some substitutions and it worked great! We made half a batch and got 24 mini-muffins (took about 12 minutes to bake). We used softened butter for the shortening, brown sugar for the white sugar, no vanilla (I was out), no milk (how'd I miss that?!), pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon (heaping), pumpkin for the banana, and chopped apple for the raisins (about double the amount - I'm sure this moisture made up for the missing milk). So we ended up with Autumn Muffins (per my 7 year old) and they are very good. I can't wait to try the recipe the way the original chef intended it...then again, it's fun to experiment too :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is by far my favourite recipe for Banana bread. I only had 1/4 cup left of shortening though, so I substituted the other half with margarine. I also added 1/4 cup of fresh blueberries instead of raisins. It was absolutely delicious. I have printed this for my personal book and will definitely be making this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! It's my go to banana bread recipe! I adjust it by making muffins and baking them for about 15 min. (Started checking around 12 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Made these as muffins. They were delicious! Would be better with walnuts. Also, I didn't have enough bananas so I added a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila L.
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Best banana bread recipe EVER! This is my very favorite recipe for banana bread as it is written. But today I found out at the last min I was out of cinnamon. I substituted some pumpkin pie spice a little ginger and a little nutmeg. It is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Amazingly good, Used half white/brown sugar. Used sunflower seeds too. Inexpensive to make, eat your heart out Panera Bread, LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sak421
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is by far the BEST banana bread recipe I made.. It was gone within minutes after I made it !! Two thumbs up from everybody .. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This bread was wonderful and I love the texture the oatmeal gave it, I did tweak the recipe like others, I used 1/4 c of applesauce and 1/4 c of coconut oil, I also used 1 tsp of vanilla. I made the batter and added 1/2 c of walnuts, poured out 1/2 the batter in a smaller loaf pan. Then I added 1/4 chopped dates to the remaining and poured that into a smaller loaf pan. My family doesn't like dates, but my boyfriend does. Hence 2 loafs. I cooked those for 45 mins and they were done. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
As I refuse to use shortening or lard, I substituted butter. Made this in a muffin tin as I needed it to be portable. I also added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and peanut butter chips. If you are worried about it being dry, you can add more banana and a touch more milk. These turned out very moist - reeses peanut butter cups meet bananas - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States